Patriots release 4 players

March, 10, 2014
Mar 10
The Patriots announced the release of defensive lineman Cory Grissom, linebacker Taylor Reed and receivers T.J. Moe and Sam McGuffie on Monday.

All four were longer shots for a roster spot, with Moe the most highly touted.

Grissom and Moe spent last year on injured reserve, while Reed and McGuffie ended the year on the team's practice squad.

In addition, offensive linemen Brice Schwab and Elvis Fisher, and running back Quentin Hines were waived, per the NFL's transactions wire. Fisher and Hines were waived with a failed physical designation.

These types of "housecleaning" moves are commonplace at this time on the NFL calendar, as the 2014 league year officially begins Tuesday at 4 p.m. ET.

Mike Reiss

ESPN New England Patriots reporter



Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.