Dan Connolly among Patriots captains

September, 3, 2014
Sep 3
The Patriots have elected six captains for the 2014 season: quarterback Tom Brady and offensive lineman Dan Connolly on offense, nose tackle Vince Wilfork, linebacker Jerod Mayo and defensive back Devin McCourty on defense and Matthew Slater on special teams.

Connolly, an offseason award winner and now the most veteran presence on the offensive line, is a first-time captain. Patriots head coach Bill Belichick lauded his work ethic during a Wednesday morning news conference.

"Sharp guy, works hard, had a good offseason," Belichick said.

Connolly will be counted on to fill some of the leadership void created when the team recently traded Logan Mankins to Tampa Bay.

The rest of the group represents repeat captains from last season. Captains are voted on by fellow players and play an integral leadership role both on game day and throughout the course of the season.
Field Yates has previous experience interning with the New England Patriots on both their coaching and scouting staffs. A graduate of Wesleyan University (CT), he is a regular contributor to ESPN Boston's Patriots coverage and ESPN Insider.



Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.