Print and Go Back New England Patriots [Print without images]

Wednesday, December 29, 2010
Welker wins Ed Block Courage Award

By Mike Rodak

FOXBOROUGH, Mass. -- Patriots wide receiver Wes Welker was elected by his teammates as the Patriots' 2010 Ed Block Courage Award winner, the team announced on Wednesday.

The award is given annually by each team to a player who "best exemplifies the principles of courage and sportsmanship while also serving as a source of inspiration." Winners from all 32 NFL teams will take part in the 33rd Annual Ed Block Courage Awards Banquet in Baltimore on Mar. 8, 2011.

Welker suffered a season-ending knee injury on Jan. 3 and returned to the practice field on Aug. 1, eventually starting the team's second preseason game in Atlanta on Aug. 19.

Previous winners of the award for the Patriots include: