Print and Go Back New England Patriots [Print without images]

Monday, May 16, 2011
Bledsoe this year's Pats Hall inductee

By Mike Reiss

Quarterback Drew Bledsoe, in his first year of eligibility, was voted into the Patriots Hall of Fame, the team announced today.

Bledsoe won by the largest percentage of fan votes under the current voting format (2007-present). He was a finalist along with Bill Parcells and Houston Antwine this year.

"It's a big deal," Bledsoe told owner Robert Kraft, in audio posted on the team's Web site. "I really appreciate [it]. It's exciting and obviously a very humbling honor. I greatly look forward to it."

Kraft called Bledsoe this morning to congratulate him on the honor.

“Drew Bledsoe played such an integral role in our efforts to rebuild the Patriots brand,” Kraft said in a statement. “He gave fans hope for the future and provided many memorable moments during his record-breaking career.

"I will never forget Drew’s record-setting performance in that come-from-behind victory against Minnesota the year I bought the team. It sparked a seven-game win streak and put the Patriots back in the playoffs for the first time in a decade. For a franchise that had only hosted one playoff game in its first 35 years, winning the AFC Championship Game at home in Foxboro and taking the Patriots to the playoffs for three consecutive years were unimaginable goals prior to his arrival.”

Bledsoe joins Jon Morris, who was selected to the Hall of Fame by the Senior Selection Committee, as the 2011 honorees. Bledsoe and Morris will be inducted in a public ceremony outside The Hall at Patriot Place on Saturday, Sept. 17. The event is free to the public.