Sunday, October 20, 2013
Referee Jerome Boger explains call
EAST RUTHERFORD, N.J. -- In a pool report with ESPNBoston.com's Mike Reiss disseminated to all reporters, referee Jerome Boger explained the penalty on Patriots defensive tackle Chris Jones, which gave the Jets a second chance to kick the game-winning field goal in Sunday's 30-27 overtime victory over New England:
Please explain the penalty that was called on No. 94 [Patriots defensive tackle Chris Jones] on the field goal.
Boger: The call was that No. 94 on the defense pushed his teammate into the formation. That is a rule change for 2013 that a teammate cannot push a teammate into the opponents’ formation.
Is it any type of push? Is it a two-handed push?
Boger: Any push. It could be with the body, not necessarily with the hand, but with the body into his teammate, into the formation. It’s any type of pushing action.
Is there anything else to go over with this penalty?
Boger: No, the umpire’s flag went up almost instantaneously as he observed the action. We just enforced it as he called it.