Williams ahead of Knox on first depth chart

BOURBONNAIS, Ill. -- The Chicago Bears released their first official depth chart in advance of Saturday's preseason opener at Solider Field against the Buffalo Bills.

Newcomer Roy Williams is penciled in the starting lineup at wide receiver along with Devin Hester, with Johnny Knox and Earl Bennett being listed on the second team. Veteran Chester Taylor opens up as the No. 2 running back behind Matt Forte and ahead of free-agent pick-up Marion Barber (No. 3).

Kellen Davis is listed as the Bears starting tight end, and Eddie Williams gets the nod as the team's No. 1 fullback.

On the defense side, Matt Toeaina is listed as a co-starter at both defensive tackle spots, with Henry Melton (undertackle) and Anthony Adams (nose tackle). Tim Jennings is the early leader in the battle for the starting cornerback spot opposite Charles Tillman. Jennings is listed on the first team, while Zack Bowman and Joshua Moore are second string.

Hester remains the teams No. 1 return man on kickoff and punt.

Below is a look at the entire depth chart.


WR: Roy Williams, Johnny Knox, Dane Sanzenbacher, Onrea Jones, Travis Cobb, Jimmy Young

LT: J'Marcus Webb, Frank Omiyale, Josh Davis

LG: Chris Williams, Edwin Williams, Johan Asiata, Mike Lamphear

C: Roberto Garza, Chris Spencer, J.C. Brignone, Alex Linnenkohl

RG: Lance Louis, Levi Horn, Johan Asiata, Ricky Henry

RT: Gabe Carimi, Josh Davis, Levi Horn

TE: Kellen Davis, Matt Spaeth, Desmond Clark, Kyle Adams, Andre Smith

WR: Devin Hester, Earl Bennett, Sam Hurd, Kris Adams, Andy Fantuz

QB: Jay Cutler, Caleb Hanie, Nathan Enderle, Trevor Vittatoe

RB: Matt Forte, Chester Taylor, Marion Barber, Khahlil Bell, Harvey Unga, Robert Hughes

FB: Eddie Williams, Will Ta'ufo'ou


LE: Israel Idonije, Corey Wootton, Jake Laptad

DT: Henry Melton, Matt Toeaina, Amobi Okoye

NT: Anthony Adams, Matt Toeaina, Stephen Paea, Marcus Harrison, Tank Tyler, Jordan Miller

RE: Julius Peppers, Vernon Gholston, Corey Wootton, Mario Addison, Nick Reed

WLB: Lance Briggs, Brian Iwuh, Patrick Trahan, Deron Minor

MLB: Brian Urlacher, Dom DeCicco, Tressor Baptiste, Chris Johnson

SLB: Nick Roach, J.T. Thomas, Tanner Antle

LCB: Tim Jennings, Zackary Bowman, D.J. Moore, Ryan Jones, Mike Holmes

RCB: Charles Tillman, Corey Graham, Joshua Moore, Antareis Bryan

SS: Chris Harris, Craig Steltz, Anthony Walters

FS: Major Wright, Chris Conte, Winston Venable


FG: Robbie Gould

KO: Robbie Gould

P: Adam Podlesh, Spencer Lanning

H: Adam Podlesh

LS: Patrick Mannelly, Desmond Clark

KR: Devin Hester, Johnny Knox, Kahlil Bell, D.J. Moore, Dane Sanzenbacher

PR: Devin Hester, Earl Bennett, Johnny Knox, D.J. Moore, Dane Sanzenbacher