Urlacher to receive Courage Award Tuesday

April, 9, 2012
CHICAGO -- Chicago Bears eight-time Pro Bowl middle linebacker Brian Urlacher will be presented with the Ed Block Courage Award on Tuesday during a ceremony at Maryville Academy in Des Plaines, Ill., the team announced on Monday.

The Ed Block Courage Award is given out each year to one member of every NFL team and is awarded to the players who exemplify commitments to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. The recipients of the award are selected solely by the vote of their teammates.

Former Bears defensive tackle Anthony Adams was presented with the honor last summer.

Urlacher is also a two-time winner of the Brian Piccolo Award.

Bears coach Lovie Smith is also scheduled to be in attendance.

Jeff Dickerson | email

Chicago Bears beat reporter
Dickerson has been the Bears beat reporter for ESPN Chicago since 2004. He is also a talk-show host on ESPN 1000 and the ESPN Radio network.



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?