Roach, Paea given Piccolo Award

April, 24, 2012
CHICAGO -- Chicago Bears linebacker Nick Roach and second-year defensive tackle Stephen Paea have been honored as the 2011 recipients of the Brian Piccolo Award.

The Brian Piccolo Award has been given to a Bears rookie since 1970 and was expanded in 1992 to include a veteran winner. Teammates vote for the rookie and veteran who best exemplify the courage, loyalty, teamwork, dedication and sense of humor of the late Brian Piccolo.

Piccolo passed away in 1970 at the age of 26 from embryonal cell carcinoma.

Six other players on the current roster are former winners of the Brian Piccolo Award: Matt Forte (2008), Devin Hester (2006), Johnny Knox (2009), Charles Tillman (2003 and 2006), Brian Urlacher (2000 and 2007) and J'Marcus Webb (2010).

Jeff Dickerson | email

Chicago Bears beat reporter
Dickerson has been the Bears beat reporter for ESPN Chicago since 2004. He is also a talk-show host on ESPN 1000 and the ESPN Radio network.



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?