Blackhawks disagree with third-period call

May, 20, 2013
Powers By Scott Powers

DETROIT -- Chicago Blackhawks coach Joel Quenneville and his players believe an official made the wrong call of interference of the goaltender, disallowing a goal that would have tied the Detroit Red Wings in the third period of Game 3 in the Western Conference semifinal series Monday.

The Red Wings scored less than two minutes after the controversial call on Andrew Shaw and went ahead 3-1. The game ended in that score, and Red Wings took a 2-1 series lead.

“I disagreed with the call,” Quenneville said. “He didn’t touch the goalie. ... It certainly [changed the momentum of the game.] We’re 2-2, had everything going, some hits, offensive zone time. Obviously coming back from 2-0 that quick, we were in great shape.”

The play began when Blackhawks forward Viktor Stalberg put a shot on net from the right circle with 14:20 left in the third period. The puck was deflected just before it reached goaltender Jimmy Howard and traveled into the net. The official standing just to the left of the net immediately waved it off.

The replay showed Shaw was standing in the crease, but he appeared to not make contact with Howard. Shaw also had been bumped farther into the crease by two Red Wings just moments before the goal.

According to the NHL’s official rules book, interference of the goaltender should be called if “an attacking player, either by his positioning or by contact, impairs the goalkeeper’s ability to move freely within his crease or defeat his goal; or (2) an attacking player initiates intentional or deliberate contact with a goalkeeper, inside or outside his goal crease.”

The Blackhawks believed Shaw hadn’t broken those rules.

“I wasn’t down there, so I don’t know exactly what happened,” Blackhawks captain Jonathan Toews said. “I find it hard to believe from what I saw [that] our player restricted the goaltender from making the save. The puck came from the same side, and he was against his post, so I don’t understand that one. I guess we’ll see the replay. Either way, when you have a goal called back, it’s a frustrating thing.”

Stalberg had a better perspective on the play and also thought Shaw hadn’t interfered with the play.

“When I shot it, I saw like [Shaw] was getting pushed into towards the net, [puck] goes through them,” Stalberg said. “It’s one of those things that sometimes they make the call, sometimes they don’t. Unfortunately, today was one of those times that they did. It was a tough, tough bounce for us not to get that one and then go back to score on the next shift, I think.”
Scott Powers is a general reporter for He is an award-winning journalist and has been reporting on preps, colleges and pros for publications throughout the Midwest since 1997.



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?


Patrick Kane
56 25 31 11
GoalsP. Kane 25
AssistsP. Kane 31
+/-D. Rundblad 16
GAAC. Crawford 2.28