Print without images
Tuesday, April 23, 2013
Keith takes exception to Sedin question
By Jim Morris
Special to ESPNChicago.com
VANCOUVER, British Columbia --
didn't like the question and took his own shot at the questioner.
After the Blackhawks' 3-1 loss to the
on Monday night, Karen Thomson, a sportscaster from Team 1040 radio, asked Keith about a play late in the second period.
scored a pretty goal on a breakaway. On the play, Keith gave Sedin a two-handed slash across the back of his arm.
In the dressing room after the game, Thomson brought up the play.
Thomson: "Can you talk about what happened after the Daniel Sedin goal?"
Keith: "Which one was that one? The third one? We scored one goal after that and the game ended 3-1. I went off the ice and took a minus. What are you talking about? What did you see?"
Thomson: "It looked like maybe there was a penalty that went undetected. You seemed a bit frustrated."
Keith: "Oh, no. I don't think there was anything. I think he scored a nice goal. The ref was right there. That's what the ref saw. We should get you as a ref maybe."
Thomson: "Yes, maybe. I can't skate, though."
Keith: "The first female referee. You can't play probably either. You're thinking the game like you know it. See ya."
Sedin shrugged when asked about the play.
"Well, I scored, right?" he said with a laugh. "I don't know. I didn't really notice it and I haven't seen it, so I don't want to talk about it."
Sedin and Keith have some history. Last season Keith was suspended five games for delivering an elbow to Sedin's head.
Thomsen tweeted about the exchange on Tuesday.
"So I think my exchange with Duncan Keith is renewing the #Canucks #Blackhawks rivalry! Lol," she tweeted, before adding the hashtag: #heldmyown
She later added: "Hockey is an emotional game and things are often said in the heat of the moment. I think this is what happened last night. I've moved on."