Yes, Stanford scored a touchdown and should have been a PAT away from tying Notre Dame and forcing a second overtime, according to Mike Pereira, former NFL vice president of officiating and current rules analyst at Fox Sports.
It doesn't matter, of course. The 20-13 final score will remain in the favor of Notre Dame. And there were plenty of ways Stanford could have left no doubt.
But if it feels good -- or good in a bad way -- to hear this then hear this: Stanford, you did get screwed.
At least, that's Pereira's take.
Pereira told the Fox studio and then later explained with his Tweets afterwards that the Pac-12 officiating crew blew the call.
Tweet one: "We have looked at ND/STA last play from every angle & feel that it is a TD. Progress was not ruled & runner was not down. Ball broke plain [sic]."
Tweet two: "Back to ND/STA. Piece all the shots together. Field level shot from inside near the goal post shows the left elbow is not down before TD."
Said Stanford coach David Shaw after the game: "Well, I didn't get to view the last play. Stepfan [Taylor] swore to me that he got in and that he put the ball over the goal line on the second effort. Officials looked at it and they said he didn't get in, so we didn't get in."
When asked to comment on the officials, Shaw said: "I'm not going to comment on the officials."
Officials blow calls all the time. Don't forget this was a Pac-12 crew. And it was a close call.
But the sting of a tough loss probably will sting a little bit more on the Farm based on how it ended.