Print and Go Back Chicago Cubs [Print without images]

Wednesday, September 12, 2012
Cubs to open 2013 season at Pittsburgh

By Doug Padilla

Chicago White Sox and Cubs fans
Cubs and Sox fans won't have as many face-to-face games next season.

The Chicago Cubs released a tentative 2013 schedule Wednesday, with the noticeable difference being the rearrangement of interleague matchups.

The season will begin April 1 at Pittsburgh, with the home opener taking place April 8 against the Milwaukee Brewers. It will be the ninth time in the past 12 seasons the Cubs will open the season on the road.

That first homestand will also include the first interleague series of the season as the Texas Rangers visit Wrigley Field on April 16-18.

The annual home-and-home interleague series against the White Sox will be reduced from six total games to four, but in an interesting twist, the teams will play back-to-back two-game sets, May 27-28 at U.S. Cellular Field and May 29-30 at Wrigley Field.

In other interleague road series, the Cubs will travel to Oakland, the Los Angeles Angels and to Seattle. It will be the Cubs’ first ever visit to Oakland.

The Houston Astros will be moving to the American League, but the Cubs won’t be able to escape them as they return to Wrigley Field for an interleague series. In addition to the White Sox, Rangers and Astros, the Cubs will also play host to the Angels.

The new-look schedule leaves the Cubs with six interleague games against the Angels and just four against the White Sox.

The Cubs will be home for just one holiday as Miami visits for Labor Day. They will be on the road for Mother’s Day (at Washington), Memorial Day (at White Sox), Father’s Day (at New York Mets) and the Fourth of July (at Oakland).

The season will end with a three-game series at St. Louis on Sept 27-29.

Chicago Cubs 2013 Schedule
Tentative and subject to change

April 1, 3-4: at Pittsburgh (3)
April 5-7: at Atlanta (3)
April 8-10: MILWAUKEE (3)
April 11-14: SAN FRANCISCO (4)
April 16-18: TEXAS (3)
April 19-21: at Milwaukee (3)
April 22-24: at Cincinnati (3)
April 25-28: at Miami (4)
April 29-May 2: SAN DIEGO (4)
May 3-5: CINCINNATI (3)
May 7-8: ST. LOUIS (2)
May 10-12: at Washington (3)
May 13-15: COLORADO (3)
May 17-19: NEW YORK (NL, 3)
May 21-23: at Pittsburgh (3)
May 24-26: at Cincinnati (3)
May 27-28: at White Sox (2)
May 29-30: WHITE SOX (2)
May 31-June 2: ARIZONA (3)
June 4-5: at Los Angeles (AL, 2)
June 7-9: PITTSBURGH (3)
June 10-13: CINCINNATI (4)
June 14-16: at New York (NL, 3)
June 17-20: at St. Louis (4)
June 21-23: HOUSTON (3)
June 25-27: at Milwaukee (3)
June 28-30: at Seattle (3)
July 2-4: at Oakland (3)
July 5-7: PITTSBURGH (3)
July 9-10: LOS ANGELES (AL, 2)
July 11-14: ST. LOUIS (4)
July 16: All-Star Game in New York (NL)
July 19-21: at Colorado (3)
July 22-25: at Arizona (4)
July 26-28: at San Francisco (3)
July 29-31: MILWAUKEE (3)
August 1-4: LOS ANGELES (NL, 4)
August 6-8: at Philadelphia (3)
August 9-11: at St. Louis (3)
August 12-14: CINCINNATI (3)
August 16-18: ST. LOUIS (3)
August 19-22: WASHINGTON (4)
August 23-25: at San Diego (3)
August 26-28: at Los Angeles (NL, 3)
August 30-Sept. 1: PHILADELPHIA (3)
September 2-4: MIAMI (3)
September 6-8: MILWAUKEE (3)
September 9-11: at Cincinnati (3)
September 12-15: at Pittsburgh (4)
September 16-19: at Milwaukee (4)
September 20-22: ATLANTA (3)
September 23-25: PITTSBURGH (3)
September 27-29: at St. Louis (3)