IHSA reinstates 32 schools' memberships

January, 20, 2012
Thirty-two schools have had their IHSA membership reinstated after attending makeup principal rules meetings, according to an IHSA spokesperson on Friday.

The 32 schools had been suspended on Jan. 9 after failing to attend the rules meeting for two consecutive years. The IHSA held makeup meetings on Thursday and Jan. 12 to give the schools two final chances to attend this year.

The 32 schools included 26 from the Chicago area. The 32 schools reinstated were Brussels, Academy of Scholastic Achievement, ACE Tech Charter, Math and Science Charter, Talent Development Charter, CICS/Larry Hawkins Charter, Clemente, Dunbar, EPIC Academy Charter, Fenger, Hirsch, Julian, Kenwood, Las Casas, Morgan Park, North Lawndale, Orr, Robeson, Schurz, Senn, South Shore, St. Francis de Sales, (UCCS/Woodlawn, Chicago Westinghouse College Prep, Harvest Christian Academy, Grayville, Hardin Calhoun, Ridgewood, Orangeville, Christ Lutheran Academy, Rockford Lutheran and Virginia.
Scott Powers is a general reporter for ESPNChicago.com. He is an award-winning journalist and has been reporting on preps, colleges and pros for publications throughout the Midwest since 1997.



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?