No Cy Young love for White Sox

Not even expanding the Cy Young vote to five players on each submitted ballot could get recognition for a White Sox pitcher.

It was just announced that the Mariners’ Felix Hernandez was named the American League Cy Young winner for 2010. A total of 12 AL pitchers were recognized, with two getting a single fifth-place vote.

Gavin Floyd had Cy Young stuff for a two-month stretch this past season, but if each team had a Cy Young winner, my White Sox vote goes to John Danks.


Felix Hernandez, Mariners 167 points

David Price, Rays, 111

CC Sabathia, Yankees, 102

Jon Lester, Red Sox 33

Jered Weaver, Angels, 24

Clay Buchholz, Red Sox, 20

Cliff Lee, Mariners/Rangers 6

Rafael Soriano, Rays 5

Trevor Cahill, A’s, 4

Joakim Soria, Royals, 2

Francisco Liriano, Twins 1

Justin Verlander, Tigers, 1