Minoso gets another crack at Hall of Fame

CHICAGO -- Chicago White Sox legend Minnie Minoso is getting another chance for enshrinement in the Baseball Hall of Fame.

Minoso will know by the Dec. 5 winter meetings if he becomes one of 10 members from baseball’s golden era (1947-72) to be enshrined. Others up for consideration: Buzzie Bavasi, Ken Boyer, Charlie Finley, Gil Hodges, Jim Kaat, Tony Oliva, Allie Reynolds, Ron Santo and Luis Tiant.

Those voting on their Hall of Fame chances include Hall of Famers Hank Aaron, Al Kaline, Ralph Kiner, Tom Lasorda, Juan Marichal, Brooks Robinson, Don Sutton and Billy Williams, executives Paul Beeston, Bill DeWitt, Roland Hemond, Gene Michael and Al Rosen (retired) and veteran reporters Dick Kaegel, Jack O'Connell and Dave Van Dyck.

Candidates must receive votes on 75 percent of the ballot to be elected. Those elected will be inducted on July 22 along with any players voted in by the Baseball Writers' Association of America on Jan. 9.

Minoso broke the White Sox’s color barrier in 1951 and played 13 of his 17 seasons on the South Side. He is also just one of two players to play in five different decades.

Minoso was an All-Star nine times and he won three Gold Glove Awards. He was also named Sporting News rookie of the year in 1951 and finished in the top four of the American League MVP voting on four occasions.

The veterans committee votes on candidates from the golden era every three years. Next year it will vote from candidates in the pre-integration era (1871-1946) and in 2013 candidates from the expansion era (1973-present) will be considered.