<
>

Melrose applauds ref for penalty shot

Michael Frolik capitalized on his penalty shot opportunity against Jimmy Howard. Gregory Shamus/Getty Images

While Eddie Olczyk said the call to award Michael Frolik a penalty shot Monday was questionable, Barry Melrose praised the referees.

Frolik scored to help the Chicago Blackhawks pull out a 4-3 win over the Detroit Red Wings in Game 6 of the Western Conference semifinals.

"I thought it was a penalty shot. I'm one of those guys that believes it's not called enough," Melrose said on "The Carmen & Jurko Show" on ESPN 1000. "I think it's an easy way out for referees not to call it, last night the slash took away a goal-scoring chance. Frolik had a breakaway, a clear-cut breakaway, the slash on the hands knocked the puck into the corner and took away his goal-scoring chance. That's a penalty shot.

"It doesn't have to be a wicked two-hander that breaks a guy's hand or a wicked slash that breaks a guy's ankle. It has to be something that takes away a scoring chance. That knocked the puck off his stick and into the corner. That was the right call by the referees and a gutsy call by the referees. The easy way out would have been to call as a slash with no penalty shot. But the referees made the right call."