And now your top 50 Wooden Award candidates

Last night, the Los Angeles Athletic Club announced the 2010-11 preseason candidates for the John R. Wooden Award. According to the club, the list is comprised of "50 student-athletes who, based on last year’s individual performance and team records, are the early front-runners for college basketball’s most prestigious honor." Sportswriters take a poll, a bunch of names get churned out, and the yearly process rolls on and on.

So who are the candidates this year? Listed below, they range from the obvious (Kyle Singler, Jacob Pullen, Jimmer Fredette, Shelvin Mack, etc.) to players the casual fan has probably never heard of (Randy Culpepper, Nikola Vucevic, Cory Higgins). And, as every year, there are plenty of snubs to speak of. Florida forward Chandler Parsons is missing. Xavier guard Tu Holloway is nowhere to be seen. Tennessee's Scotty Hopson didn't get a nod (though, based on the "former production" criteria, that's not an inexplicable decision). UNLV guard Tre'Von Willis is missing.

Perhaps the biggest snub of all goes to West Virginia forward Kevin Jones. Jones was already a very good, very productive player from one of last year's Final Four teams; in 2010-11, he should become a star. It's a bit of a crime that he's not on the list.

Then again, it's just a list. It's bound to change. What's more, complaining about snubs is a bit silly when freshmen, transfers, and players who haven't played yet (whether through injury or eligibility issues; think Renardo Sidney) can't be selected, either. This is a more of a guidebook than a rulebook. It's merely a starting point. In a few months, it's not going to matter. (If you want a list of those freshman and transfers -- not to mention a list that includes Kevin Jones and Chandler Parsons, check out Andy Katz's preseason list here.)

Anyway, the list is below. Be sure to leave your snub-related gripes in the comments.

Ty Abbott, Arizona State

Lavoy Allen, Temple

Kevin Anderson, Richmond

Talor Battle, Penn State

Kenny Boynton, Florida

William Buford, Ohio State

Alec Burks, Colorado

Randy Culpepper, UTEP

Malcolm Delaney, Virginia Tech

LaceDarius Dunn, Baylor

Kim English, Missouri

Corey Fisher, Villanova

Jimmer Fredette, Brigham Young

Austin Freeman, Georgetown

Ashton Gibbs, Pittsburgh

Steven Gray, Gonzaga

Jordan Hamilton, Texas

Elias Harris, Gonzaga

Jeremy Hazell, Seton Hall

John Henson, North Carolina

Cory Higgins, Colorado

Tyler Honeycutt, UCLA

Robbie Hummel, Purdue

JaJuan Johnson, Purdue

Kris Joseph, Syracuse

Kawhi Leonard, San Diego State

Jon Leuer, Wisconsin

Kalin Lucas, Michigan State

Shelvin Mack, Butler

Demetri McCamey, Illinois

E’Twaun Moore, Purdue

Marcus Morris, Kansas

Jacob Pullen, Kansas State

John Shurna, Northwestern

Kyle Singler, Duke

Chris Singleton, Florida State

Nolan Smith, Duke

Tracy Smith, North Carolina State

Durrell Summers, Michigan State

Jeffery Taylor, Vanderbilt

Isaiah Thomas, Washington

Trey Thompkins, Georgia

Klay Thompson, Washington State

Joe Trapani, Boston College

Brandon Triche, Syracuse

Nikola Vucevic, USC

Kemba Walker, Connecticut

Derrick Williams, Arizona

Jordan Williams, Maryland

Chris Wright, Dayton