Buckeyes name eight captains

August, 27, 2013
COLUMBUS, Ohio -- The search for leadership apparently was a fruitful one.

After stressing the need to fill the void left by last season's respected senior class all offseason, it appears Ohio State is overflowing with players capable of earning a captaincy.

The program announced Tuesday that eight different Buckeyes would serve as game captains this season following a team vote on Monday, with a verdict on the official captains for 2013 being put off until the end of the season.

"It's the first time I've done something like this," Meyer said to the team, according to a school release. "We had eight individuals receive a lot of votes, and all were within 12 votes of each other.

"So, they'll lead us into each game as captains, and at the end of the year a decision will be made as to who will be the season's captains."

The group of eight Buckeyes: Left tackle Jack Mewhort, safety C.J. Barnett, safety Christian Bryant, quarterback Kenny Guiton, quarterback Braxton Miller, linebacker Ryan Shazier, center Corey Linsley, and wide receiver Philly Brown.

Austin Ward | email

Ohio State/Big Ten reporter



Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.

Ohio State Quarterback Competition
Marty Smith discusses the competition among Cardale Jones, J.T. Barrett and Braxton Miller to be Ohio State's starting quarterback.