Dallas Cowboys: 2010 Hall of Fame

Tales behind Emmitt Smith's induction

August, 8, 2010

ESPNDallas.com's Tim MacMahon and Calvin Watkins chronicled Emmitt Smith's journey into NFL immortality Saturday during his induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

MacMahon makes the case that Smith is unique among the all-time great running backs because his numbers and production back it up.

"I think it's fair to say you will never see another runner like him again," Cowboys owner Jerry Jones said as he presented Smith at Fawcett Stadium. "No one will perform at that position with that production for that length of time again. It's just too hard to do."

Meanwhile, Watkins tells the story of the sacrifices Smith's father, a promising football player himself, made for his family, making Saturday's induction that much sweeter.

"Now, I did not know all the sacrifices until I became older," the younger Smith said. "During those times they didn't talk much about those sacrifices, and as a child you're growing up seeing your father doing what he's doing. You don't know how he got to that point, there was never a discussion."

Emmitt Smith can't describe experience

August, 7, 2010
CANTON, Ohio -- Emmitt Smith was the only member of the Class of 2010 to shed some tears. And after his more than 30 minute speech was over on Saturday night he said he couldn't describe the entire Hall of Fame experience.

"You can't really put into words truly how to describe the entire experience itself," Smith said to a small group of reporters when his night was over and he was headed to his party. "And even if I did try to describe it you couldn’t feel the true power or the magnitude of it you have to be in it to really, really feel it."

Former teammate Michael Irvin said it best of Smith's speech: "He did great. Emmitt used his mouth to formulate the words. But his heart did the speaking [and] that’s what you want."

Michael Irvin done chasing Jerry Rice

August, 7, 2010
CANTON, Ohio – Michael Irvin showed up for the Hall of Fame ceremonies with a cast on his left foot, the result of a symbolic injury he recently suffered.

Irvin tore his Achilles tendon trying to catch Jerry Rice in a celebrity flag football game.

"I’ve been chasing him all my life," Irvin said of the man who rewrote the NFL’s receiving record book. "There’s no way I will or anybody else will ever catch Jerry Rice, so I’m done with it."

Irvin laughed as he recalled the story of his injury, figuring it was sort of a fitting tribute to the first-ballot Hall of Fame receiver.

Emmitt Smith thanks former teammates

August, 7, 2010

An emotional Emmitt Smith thanks former teammates Michael Irvin, Troy Aikman and Daryl Johnston at his Pro Football Hall of Fame induction.

Live chat: Hall of Fame induction ceremony

August, 7, 2010
Join ESPN's NFL bloggers and reporters as they cover the Pro Football Hall of Fame induction ceremonies live today.

Which Cowboy is next for Hall of Fame?

August, 6, 2010
SAN ANTONIO -- On Saturday night, Emmitt Smith, the NFL's all-time leading rusher, will get inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

He will become the 10th Cowboys player to walk across the grand stage. Tom Landry and Tex Schramm are also in the Hall of Fame.

The big question is, which eligible Cowboy is next?

Rush end Charles Haley, who won five Super Bowl titles, more than anybody in history, was denied an opportunity to join Smith this year.

"I'm not a fortune teller, nor do I want to be," Haley said. "If the opportunity comes I know I will be willing to walk through that door."

Safety Darren Woodson, a five-time Pro Bowler and three-time All-Pro, was a part of three Super Bowl titles.

Cliff Harris, another safety, was a four-time All-Pro and won two titles. Harris was named to the 1970s All Decade team.

Chuck Howley, a six-time All-Pro who was Super Bowl V MVP, is another player who should get some consideration.

Jerry Jones, who purchased the team in 1989 and turned it from a downward spiral to win three Super Bowl titles in the 1990s, will get some love from the voters some day.

Let's not forget that Deion Sanders, a six-time All-Pro and two-time Super Bowl champion, will be eligible for the first time this year.