Dallas Cowboys: Tevita Finau

Andre Holmes returns to practice squad

November, 27, 2012
IRVING, Texas – Released from the active roster over the weekend, the Cowboys re-signed wide receiver Andre Holmes to the practice squad after he went unclaimed through waivers on Monday.

Holmes played in seven games, seeing most of his action on special teams. He caught two passes for 11 yards.

To make room for Holmes on the practice squad defensive linemen Tevita Finau was cut.

The Cowboys cut Holmes in order to make room for Anthony Armstrong. With Danny Coale lost for the year because of a torn anterior cruciate ligament, the Cowboys wanted to keep two wide receivers on the practice squad in Tim Benford and Holmes.

Practice report: Knee forces Ryan Cook to sit

November, 14, 2012

IRVING, Texas – Center Ryan Cook is not practicing Wednesday because of a sore knee, which has caused the Cowboys to reconfigure the offensive line yet again.

Mackenzy Bernadeau is taking the first-team snaps at center and veteran Derrick Dockery is at right guard. Phil Costa has missed the last three games with a dislocated ankle and will need a few more weeks before he can return. Kevin Kowalski is in his second week of practice this season after spending the first nine weeks on the physically unable to perform list.

Running back DeMarco Murray (foot) was on the field in a helmet and cleats, but he will continue his rehab. Cornerback Mike Jenkins will miss his third straight day of practice because of a back injury. He did not play last week at Philadelphia.

As the portion of practice open to the media was closing, linebacker DeMarcus Ware went with a group of players rehabbing. His hands were taped and he was in shells, which is a sign he will practice in some fashion. He was not on the injury report last week.

Defensive end Sean Lissemore (ankle) and safety Matt Johnson (hamstring) also are not practicing.

The Cowboys added two practice squad players in linebacker Jerry Franklin and defensive end Tevita Finau with the recent call-ups of Vince Agnew and Ben Bass.