Dallas Colleges: 2013 watch lists

Five from Big 12 on Camp Award list

July, 19, 2013
Five Big 12 players are on the 50-man watch list for the Walter Camp Award, given annually to college football's best player.
TCU has to be happy getting two players on the list, but I'm surprised to see TCU defensive end Devonte Fields and Kansas running back James Sims omitted.

The watch list will be narrowed to 10 in November. Manti Te'o won the award last season, and Texas' Colt McCoy did it twice, in 2008 and 2009. He was the last player from the Big 12 to win the trophy.
Nine Big 12 players are on the list for the Doak Walker Award, given annually to college football's top running back.

Very nice haul from the Big 12. Running back is probably the Big 12's strongest position of any to start the season, and you can see that on this list. Two teams (Baylor, TCU) have multiple backs on the watch list, and there's no question about any of those guys. I'm very surprised Texas didn't get a name on the list. In theory, Johnathan Gray, Malcolm Brown and Joe Bergeron all had a case to be on here. Texas Tech's Kenny Williams probably could have been added to this list, too, and perhaps Oklahoma's Brennan Clay.

Seastrunk has a great chance to win this award, but guys like Williams, Sims, James and Hubert could all make the list of finalists.

Texas' Cedric Benson (2004) was the last player from the Big 12 to win the award. The Longhorns are the only school in college football with three winners all-time. Texas Tech (Byron Hanspard, Bam Morris) is one of just three schools in college football with multiple winners since the award began in 1990.

Two Big 12 QBs on Davey O'Brien watch list

July, 17, 2013
Two Big 12 quarterbacks are on the watch list for the Davey O'Brien Award, given annually to college football's best quarterback.
For now, the MAC (3) has more quarterbacks on the watch list than the Big 12, and the Mountain West (4) has twice as many. Like we've written all offseason, I wouldn't put much stock into that. The Big 12 has a lot of talent at quarterback ready to suit up in 2013, but Ash and Pachall are the only players with significant experience.

That said, I probably still would have given Oklahoma State's Clint Chelf a nod on this list. Players who don't make the watch list in the preseason are still eligible for the award, which is handed out in December after the regular season. I'd keep an eye on Chelf, Oklahoma's Blake Bell, Baylor's Bryce Petty and Texas Tech's Michael Brewer to crash the watch list by season's end.

You can see the full list here.

Big 12 quarterbacks have won three of the past five O'Brien Trophies. Baylor's Robert Griffin III won in 2011 and Oklahoma's Sam Bradford and Texas' Colt McCoy went back to back in 2008 and 2009.
Just two Big 12 linebackers made the watch list for the Butkus Award, given annually to college football's top linebacker.
Just like receivers, linebackers across the Big 12 are dealing with a major NFL drain. Arthur Brown, Jake Knott and A.J. Klein are gone, but I'm surprised to see a few names missing.

Oklahoma State's Shaun Lewis tops that list. The Big 12 would need a breakout season to place a linebacker on the list of finalists, but Texas' Jordan Hicks may finish the year as the Big 12's best linebacker after missing much of 2012 with injury.

I'm also surprised to see Kansas' Ben Heeney and Baylor's Eddie Lackey left off the list. TCU's Joel Hasley might have been a good selection, too.

Texas A&M's Von Miller won the award in 2010, but I'd expect a quiet year from the Big 12 linebackers. The last time a Big 12 linebacker from a current Big 12 school won the trophy was Texas' Derrick Johnson, all the way back in 2004.

Notre Dame's Manti Te'o won last year.