Dallas Colleges: Bo Jackson

Big 12 media days live: Day 2

July, 22, 2014
Jul 22
The Big 12 media days continue on Tuesday in Dallas, as Oklahoma's Bob Stoops and new Texas coach Charlie Strong each take the stage. Keep this page open throughout the day's proceedings as we bring you the latest from our reporters, who will cover all 10 teams at the event.

The Cotton Bowl's Heisman history

January, 4, 2013
ARLINGTON, Texas – Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel is the eighth Heisman Trophy winner to play in the Cotton Bowl immediately after receiving college football’s highest individual honor.

A quick look at the Cotton Bowl performances of Johnny Football’s Heisman predecessors:

1949 – SMU’s Doak Walker: The hometown kid did it a little bit of everything during SMU’s 21-13 win over Oregon. Walker rushed for 66 yards and the game’s first touchdown on 14 carries, threw for 79 yards on 6-of-10 passing and boomed a 79-yard punt off a quick kick that pinned Oregon at the Ducks’ 1.

1963 – Navy’s Roger Staubach: The No. 1 vs. No. 2 matchup turned into a lopsided loss for Staubach’s second-ranked Midshipmen, with Texas rolling to a 28-6 rout to clinch the Longhorns’ first national title. Staubach completed 21-of-31 passes for 228 yards, but he was picked off once and was under siege all day. Staubach was credited with minus-47 yards on 12 rushing attempts, although he did score Navy’s lone touchdown on a 2-yard run.

1978 – Texas’ Earl Campbell: The undefeated, top-ranked Longhorns got blown out by Notre Dame, 38-10, despite 116 yards on 29 carries by the Tyler Rose. Texas, committed six turnovers, fell behind 24-3 midway through the second quarter.

1985 – Boston College’s Doug Flutie: Flutie tied a Cotton Bowl record with three touchdown passes in BC’s 45-28 win over Houston, including a 63-yard bomb to future Cowboys receiver Kelvin Martin, but it wasn't an especially pretty performance. Flutie completed only 13-of-37 passes for 180 yards and was picked off twice.

1986 – Auburn’s Bo Jackson: Bo don’t know Cotton Bowl success. Actually, Jackson put up nice numbers against the Wrecking Crew, rushing for 129 yards and a touchdown on 31 carries and catching a 73-yard touchdown pass. But the Aggies blew out Auburn, 36-16.

1988 – Notre Dame’s Tim Brown: Two years later, the Aggies ruined another Heisman winner’s finale. Brown caught six balls for 105 yards and a touchdown, but his score on the opening series was the only time the Fighting Irish reached the end zone during a 35-10 loss to A&M.

1998 – Texas’ Ricky Williams: Williams, wearing No. 37 to honor the deceased Doak Walker, capped his college career with a dominant performance. He rushed for 203 yards and two touchdowns on 30 carries. His first score was a 37-yard run.