Dallas Colleges: Davey O'Brien watch list

Big 12 media days live: Day 2

July, 22, 2014
Jul 22
The Big 12 media days continue on Tuesday in Dallas, as Oklahoma's Bob Stoops and new Texas coach Charlie Strong each take the stage. Keep this page open throughout the day's proceedings as we bring you the latest from our reporters, who will cover all 10 teams at the event.

Davey O'Brien QB watch list announced

July, 15, 2011
The Davey O'Brien Foundation announced its watch list Friday featuring the nation's top 38 collegiate quarterbacks.

Baylor's Robert Griffin and Oklahoma's Landry Jones -- both 2010 semifinalist -- return to the list. Also appearing are SMU's Kyle Padron, Texas A&M's Ryan Tannehill and Oklahoma State's Brandon Weeden.

Appearing on the watch list is not a requirement to win the Davey O'Brien Award. Quarterbacks from all 120 Division I FBS schools are eligible until the field is narrowed to 16 candidates on Oct. 24. The three finalists will be announced Nov. 21, and the winner Dec. 8.

Two of the last three winners of the award have come from the Big 12 South. Texas' Colt McCoy was honored in 2009, and Oklahoma's Sam Bradford won the year before. Auburn's Cam Newton was the 2010 winner.

The 35th Davey O'Brien Awards dinner will be Feb. 20, 2012, in Fort Worth.

O'Brien list loaded with top-notch Texas QBs

July, 14, 2010
Two Metroplex quarterbacks, five Big 12 passers and another signal-caller in the state of Texas were selected to the 30-man Davey O'Brien Award watch list that was released Wednesday. The award is given to college football's top quarterback.

SMU sophomore Kyle Padron heads into a highly anticipated sophomore season after leading the Mustangs to its first bowl game in a quarter-century. He threw for 460 yards and two touchdowns in the 45-10 victory over Nevada to run away with the MVP trophy.

To the west, TCU senior Andy Dalton is finally on the national radar as a top-notch quarterback. He heads into his final season attempting to guide the Horned Frogs to a second consecutive BCS bowl berth.

The five Big 12 quarterbacks on the list are: Robert Griffin (Baylor), Taylor Potts (Texas Tech), Jerrod Johnson (Texas A&M), Blaine Gabbert (Missouri) and Landry Jones (Oklahoma).

Houston quarterback Case Keenum, who opted to return to school rather than enter the NFL draft, is also a nominee.

The list will be narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Oct. 25 and pared to three finalists on Nov. 22. Texas' Colt McCoy won the 2009 honor.