Dallas Colleges: Home-Depot-Awards-2011

Robert Griffin III wins Davey O'Brien Award

December, 9, 2011
Baylor quarterback Robert Griffin III got off to a nice start, winning the opening award of "The Home Depot College Football Awards" show.

He beat out Case Keenum and Andrew Luck to win the Davey O'Brien Award as the nation's top quarterback.

Griffin is the first O'Brien winner in Baylor's history and the first from the Big 12 since Colt McCoy in 2009. A Big 12 quarterback has won the award in seven of the past 11 seasons.

He broke the NCAA record for passing efficiency this year and threw for 3,998 yards, 36 touchdowns and six interceptions.

A well-deserved honor for the program-changing Bear.

Justin Blackmon: Repeat Biletnikoff winner

December, 9, 2011
Oklahoma State receiver Justin Blackmon won the Biletnikoff Award on Thursday night for the second consecutive year during "The Home Depot College Football Awards" show.

The Cowboys star becomes the second player in college football history to repeat as the Biletnikoff winner, after Texas Tech's Michael Crabtree in 2007 and 2008.

He's already the second Big 12 player to take home an award tonight, after Baylor quarterback Robert Griffin III won the Davey O'Brien Award.

Like Griffin, Blackmon's award is well-deserved. He's been the best receiver in the nation this year, and he's now been rewarded for his efforts.

He caught 113 passes for 1,336 yards and 15 touchdowns, helping Oklahoma State win 11 games and a Big 12 title, earning a trip to the Fiesta Bowl against Stanford.

Blackmon and Crabtree are not only the lone two-time winners, they're the only players in Big 12 history to win the award, which began in 1994.

Blackmon beat out Oklahoma's Ryan Broyles and USC's Robert Woods for the honor.

Randy Bullock wins the Groza Award

December, 9, 2011
Texas A&M's Randy Bullock won the Groza Award as the nation's top kicker on Thursday night during "The Home Depot College Football Awards" show.

Bullock led the nation with 25 field goals made on 29 attempts, and is the first Texas A&M player to ever win the Groza Award.

He's the second consecutive Big 12 player to win the Groza Award after Oklahoma State's Dan Bailey won the award last year.

Bullock beat out Florida's Caleb Sturgis and Florida State's Dustin Hopkins.

Chalk it up as a win for the Aggies over their future SEC opponents, the Gators.