HOF bias seems to be thing of past

DALLAS -- A few years ago there was a belief among many fans and former players that there as a bias against the Cowboys when it came to the voting for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

On Saturday, Deion Sanders became the sixth ex-Cowboy in the last six years to be selected for induction into the Hall of Fame.

It started in 2006 with Troy Aikman and Rayfield Wright. In 2007 it was Michael Irvin’s turn. In 2009, Bob Hayes earned enshrinement. Last year it was Emmitt Smith. And now Sanders.

“That’s pretty special,” Smith said. “It says a lot about how talented our ballclub really was and how well we played together. And it says a lot about how much winning we did together, winning Super Bowls. Performance, week in and week out, is extremely important and having longevity is equally important.”

Charles Haley was among the final 15 modern-era candidates for the second straight year and figures to be a factor in the selection process going forward. Darren Woodson’s name was up for selection as well. So has Jerry Jones'. In a few years Larry Allen’s name will come into the mix. Some of the Landry era Cowboys could find their way into the Veterans Committee mix, like Chuck Howley.

It will never be enough for some Cowboys' fans, but it's much better than before.