Cowboys get a compensatory pick

March, 25, 2011
The Cowboys are one of 23 NFL teams to receive a compensatory pick. They will receive just one, to be taken in the seventh-round.

Under the rules for compensatory draft selections, a team losing more or better compensatory free agents than it acquires in the previous year is eligible to receive compensatory draft picks.

The number of picks a team receives equals the net loss of compensatory free agents up to a maximum of four.

Here's the list of teams with picks:

Team and the pick(s)

Carolina 3

Baltimore 2

Minnesota 2

New York Giants 2

Philadelphia 2

San Diego 2

San Francisco 2

Tennessee 2

Arizona, Buffalo, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Dallas, Denver, Green Bay, Houston, Kansas City, Miami, New Orleans, Oakland, Seattle, Tampa Bay and Washington each have one.

Since 1994, the Cowboys have had 29 compensatory picks.
Calvin Watkins joined in September 2009. He's covered the Cowboys since 2006 and also has covered colleges, boxing and high school sports.



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?