Cowboys have 61 players in fold right now

IRVING, Texas -- The Cowboys have 61 players under contract heading into 2011, counting two exclusive rights free agents: wide receiver Jesse Holley and cornerback Bryan McCann, who cannot sign with another team.

Provided players with four or more years of experience are unrestricted free agents when the new collective bargaining agreement is reached, they have 10 UFAs (Alex Barron, Stephen Bowen, Doug Free, Chris Greisen, Jason Hatcher, Sam Hurd, Kyle Kosier, Gerald Sensabaugh, Marcus Spears, Leon Williams) and they have one restricted free agent (Alan Ball).

(UPDATE: I forgot wide receiver Titus Ryan on the initial post)

This does not include the rookie draft picks, which would bring the total to 69 on the roster or the signing of college free agents. As of now teams can bring 80 players to training camp, however, there have been whispers of adding more spots this summer in part because of the lockout. I’m not sure I would agree with that decision because with a condensed training camp (in all likelihood) teams would have to focus on getting their regulars ready to play for the season and not spend so much time looking for bottom of the roster help.

The following is a breakdown of the players per position and the final year of their contract.

Quarterback (3) – Tony Romo (2013), Jon Kitna (2011), Stephen McGee (2012)

Running back (5) – Felix Jones (2012), Marion Barber (2014), Tashard Choice (2011), Lonyae Miller (2011), Chris Gronkowski (2012)

Wide receiver (10) - Miles Austin (2016), Dez Bryant (2014), Roy Williams (2013), Manny Johnson (2011), Jesse Holley (2011)-X, Teddy Williams (2011), Kevin Ogletree (2011), Troy Bergeron (2011), Jeff Moturi (2011), Titus Ryan (2011)

Tight end (5) – Jason Witten (2012), Martellus Bennett (2011), John Phillips (2012), Martin Rucker (2011), Jason Pociask (2011)

Offensive line (9) – Montrae Holland (2011), Andre Gurode (2012), Phil Costa (2012), Leonard Davis (2013), Marc Colombo (2012), Sam Young (2013), Travis Bright (2011), Robert Brewster (2011), Jermey Parnell (2011)

Defensive line (6) – Jay Ratliff (2012), Clifton Geathers (2011) Josh Brent (2013), Igor Olshansky (2012), Sean Lissemore (2013), Alex Daniels (2011)

Linebackers (10) - DeMarcus Ware (2015), Bradie James (2011), Keith Brooking (2011), Anthony Spencer (2011), Sean Lee (2013), Kenwin Cummings (2011), Victor Butler (2012), Brandon Williams (2012), Isaiah Greenhouse (2011), Kelvin Smith (2011)

Secondary (9) – Mike Jenkins (2012), Terence Newman (2014), Orlando Scandrick (2011), Andrew Sendejo (2011), Bryan McCann (2011)-X, Danny McCray (2012), Barry Church (2012), Akwasi Owusu-Ansah (2013), Ross Weaver (2011)

Specialists (4) – Mat McBriar (2011), L.P. Ladouceur (2012), David Buehler (2012), Kris Brown (2011)

X - exclusive rights free agent