Print and Go Back ESPN.com: Dallas Cowboys [Print without images]

Tuesday, July 29, 2014
Cowboys wake-up call: Day 6

By Todd Archer

OXNARD, Calif. -- Every day of Dallas Cowboys training camp we’ll offer up a wake-up call that offers a quick review of the previous day and a preview of the current day.

Today’s schedule: The Cowboys return to the practice field at 3:45 p.m. PT/6:45 p.m. ET. Jason Garrett will have his news conference at 12 p.m. PT/3 p.m. ET.

Quick thoughts on two padded practices:
What I’m watching:
They said it: “We’re out here for just over three weeks and the weather obviously is significantly better than it would be in Dallas at this time, so we feel like we can come out here and just get our work done. I do think there is a bonding opportunity whenever you’re away and you’re just working together. We’ve talked a lot about shared commitment for a common goal, and if you think about that in your lives, whether it’s in sports or out, if you’re involved with someone or a group of people and you have a shared commitment for a single purpose, somehow, some way working through those good times and those bad times helps bond you. I think that’s what training camp is all about and what it’s been about for a long time, and I don’t think that’s any different right now.” -- Jason Garrett on if it is necessary for teams to get away from home for camp these days.