Golf: Scott Verplank

W2W4: Round 2 at Colonial

May, 25, 2012
FORT WORTH, Texas -- It's time for Round 2 at Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial, so here are a few things to watch:

* There may be no one hotter in the world of golf than Jason Dufner. If you want to see him, get here early. He's one stroke off the lead and tees off at 7:43 a.m. off No. 10 with Matt Kuchar and Rickie Fowler. They're worth watching Friday.

* Kuchar currently has the longest consecutive non-cut streak (18), but he'll likely need to shoot under par today to make it. He's at 2-over right now. If the cut occurred after Round 1, it would have been at 1-over. Like any non-major, the Colonial is top-70s and ties that get to play the weekend.

* Scott Verplank withdrew, which allowed Kyle Reifers to get in the tournament as an alternate. He took advantage, shooting 65. He's one stroke back of the lead.

* Zach Johnson will try to keep his consecutive rounds in the 60s going at Colonial. He's up to 13 now and tees off 12:18 p.m. off No. 1 tee.

* It's cut day, so watch the guys who are hovering around that 1-over number. The course sets up for some late birdies for those that start at No. 1, so it could be very interesting.

* Harris English shot 60-63 at Gleneagles Country Club on Monday to qualify for the British Open and is clearly still feeling good. He's at 5-under and looking for his first PGA Tour win. The rookie tees off at 1:24 p.m. off No. 1.

Scott Verplank withdraws with sore wrist

May, 15, 2012
IRVING, Texas -- Dallas native and 2007 HP Byron Nelson champion Scott Verplank withdrew from this year's event, citing a sore wrist.

It's the first time Verplank has missed the Nelson since 1993. Verplank has made the cut in nine of his last 12 Nelsons and has five top-5 finishes, including his win and a runner-up showing in 2001.

Shaun Micheel, whose lone PGA Tour victory was the 2003 PGA Championship, is in the field now that Verplank has withdrawn.

Other withdrawls this week:

J.B. Holmes (replaced by Duffy Waldorf)
Neal Lancaster (replaced by Chris Riley)
Spencer Levin (replaced by Todd Hamilton)
Tom Pernice Jr. (replaced by Bryden Macpherson)