Notes from Monday's Kirk Herbstreit Classic

  • Kirk Herbstreit Classic officials estimated a total of 67,646 fans attended all four sessions of Monday’s event at Cowboys Stadium. The top session with 20,182 in attendance was the first, featuring Euless Trinity and Shiloh Christian. Next was the Cedar Hill vs. Denton Guyer overtime thriller with 18,334 paid attendance, followed by the late Arlington Bowie-Desoto game (15,898) and Dallas Skyline-St. Thomas Aquinas (13,232).

  • Monday’s passing top performer was DeSoto’s Ryan Polite, who threw for 313 yards, 43 yards more than second-place finisher Driphus Jackson of Cedar Hill. Polite threw for five touchdowns. St. Thomas Aquinas’ Jacob Rudock was statistically the most efficient, going 10-for-14 and throwing for 230 yards.

  • Monday’s top rusher was surprisingly Guyer quarterback J.W. Walsh, who scrambled for 214 yards on 21 carries for five touchdowns. Cedar Hill head coach Joey McGuire said they couldn’t stop Guyer’s play in which the Wildcats slid the halfback over to block for Walsh on the keeper. The top running back on the day was Euless Trinity’s Terrance Tusan, who tallied 128 yards on only eight carries and found the end zone twice. Just behind Tusan in yards was Guyer running back Treavon Walton, who ran for 120 yards on 22 carries.

  • The top statistical receiver Monday was Shiloh Christian’s Zann Jones, who gained 166 yards on four catches for two touchdowns. The top Texas school receiver was Arlington Bowie’s Michael Reynolds, who had four catches for 118 yards and one touchdown.

  • The State of Oklahoma had a lot to watch Monday with five top players to watch going to either Oklahoma State or Oklahoma next year. The future class of Cowboys includes Guyer’s Walsh and defensive end Jimmy Bean and Bowie free safety Quentin Sargent. Next year’s Sooner squad will include Trinity top receiver Brandon Carter and Skyline safety Shannon Franklin.