High School: 2012 UIL softball state tournament

Forney, Plano East fall short at state softball

June, 3, 2012
Plano East and Forney lost in the semifinals of the UIL state softball tournament Friday.

Plano East lost 6-3 to Klein Collins in a Class 5A semifinal. Deer Park beat Klein Collins 6-0 in the 5A state championship game.

Forney lost 11-3 to Montgomery in a 4A semifinal. Spring Branch Smithson Valley knocked off Montgomery 9-8 to win the 4A championship.

Other UIL state softball champions for 2012 are 1A Flatonia, 2A Crawford and 3A Lufkin Hudson.

Plano East outfielder Chandler Cink and Forney outfielder Rylie Chappell were named to the all-state softball tournament team.

Here are the full all-state tournament teams:

Plano East, Forney reach state softball tourney

May, 28, 2012
Class 4A Forney and Class 5A Plano East are the only schools from the area to reach the UIL state softball tournament, which runs Wednesday-Saturday in Austin.

Plano East defeated District 8-5A rival Hebron 5-4 in the 5A Region 1 final to earn its trip to state. The Panthers will face Klein Collins in a semifinal game at 3 p.m. Friday at the University of Texas' McCombs Field. The 5A championship game is scheduled for 4 p.m. Saturday.

Forney edged Ennis in a best-of-three 4A Region 2 final series, 6-5, 10-12, 2-1. The Jackrabbits face Montgomery in a state semifinal at 9 a.m. Friday. The 4A championship game is at 1 p.m. Saturday.

Here is the entire UIL state softball tournament schedule:

Class 1A semifinals
  • 9 a.m. - Ivanhoe Rayburn (24-1-1) vs. Petrolia (18-12)
  • Noon - Flatonia (28-5) vs. Garrison (26-5-1)
Class 2A semifinals
  • 3 p.m. - Mineola (32-1) vs. Alpine (31-6)
  • 6 p.m. - Crawford (34-2) vs. Danbury (27-7)
Class 3A semifinals
  • 9 a.m. - Lufkin Hudson (34-5) vs. West (29-9)
  • Noon - Henderson (29-8) vs. Liberty Hill (27-8)
Class 1A championship
  • 3 p.m. - Ivanhoe Rayburn/Petrolia winner vs. Flatonia/Garrison winner
Class 2A championship
  • 6 p.m. - Mineola/Alpine winner vs. Crawford/Danbury winner
Class 4A semifinals
  • 9 a.m. - Montgomery (33-6) vs. Forney (32-7-2)
  • Noon - Spring Branch Smithson Valley (28-6) vs. Waco Midway (34-8)
Class 5A semifinals
  • 3 p.m. - Plano East (35-3) vs. Klein Collins (30-4)
  • 6 p.m. - Northside O’Connor (31-2) vs. Deer Park (29-8)
Class 3A championship
  • 10 a.m. - Lufkin Hudson/West winner vs. Henderson/Liberty Hill winner
Class 4A championship
  • 1 p.m. - Montgomery/Forney winner vs. Spring Branch Smithson Valley/Waco Midway winner
Class 5A championship
  • 4 p.m. - Plano East/Klein Collins winner vs. Northside O’Connor/Deer Park winner