High School: Perry Jones

Baylor's Jones among finalists for top freshman

February, 25, 2011
Duncanville product Perry Jones of Baylor is one of five players selected as a finalist for the 2011 Wayman Tisdale Award, given to the national freshman of the year, the U.S. Basketball Writers Associated announced Friday.

Texas' Tristan Thompson, Ohio State's Jared Sullinger and Kentucky teammates Terrence Jones and Brandon Knight are the other finalists. The winner will be announced April 1 in conjunction with the Final Four in Houston.

Jones leads all Big 12 freshmen in scoring (14.1), field goal percentage (56.3) and minutes played (33.05).

Duncanville's Jones in McDonald's spotlight

March, 30, 2010
Duncanville’s Perry Jones III will be following in some big footsteps in Wednesday’s McDonald’s All-American High School Basketball Game.

The showcase offers an opportunity for the 6-11 senior forward to show why many consider him North Texas’ best boys basketball player this season.

Jones, rated No. 9 nationally by ESPNU among seniors, will eventually take to Baylor his freakishly good ball-handling and shooting skills for a player his size. He will be a member of the East All-Stars.

More than two dozen area boys were nominated for the game, but only Jones survived the rigorous four-round selection process.

The list of some of the previous 950 McDonald’s All-Americans is inspiring: Magic Johnson, Kevin Garnett, Michael Jordan, Carmelo Anthony and LeBron James.

“Growing up watching Carmelo Anthony and LeBron James, I just wanted to be like them,’’ Jones said.

The 33rd annual boys game will be televised on ESPN at 7 p.m. CT from Value City Arena in Columbus, Ohio.

In the ninth annual McDonald’s girls game, which precedes the boys, Frisco’s Tiffany Moore, a 5-10 guard, and Irving MacArthur’s Odyssey Sims, a 5-8 guard, are members of the West All-Stars. Tip-off is at 4:30 p.m. Wednesday on ESPNU.

Moore, a Texas signee, is No. 22 on ESPNU Top 100 list.

Sims, a Baylor recruit and No. 3 on the Top 100 list, will not play. She recently underwent knee surgery after tearing her ACL in MacArthur’s Region I championship loss to Cedar Hill.

Duncanville’s Cathy Self-Morgan and Elesha Walker will serve as West co-coach and assistant, respectively.

Self-Morgan previously coached in the 2004 McDonald’s game.

Both Jones and Sims were finalists for 2010 Morgan Wooten Player of the Year Award.

Sims (first team) and Jones (third team) were named to the 2010 Parade All America team.

Sims, Jones named Player of Year finalists

March, 3, 2010
Irving MacArthur senior guard Odyssey Sims and Duncanville forward Perry Jones were announced as finalists for McDonald's Morgan Wootten Player of the Year Awards.

Six male and six female finalists were named nationwide Wednesday.

The 5-8 Sims averaged 22.5 points and helped the Lady Cardinals reach the Class 5A Region I championship game. She suffered a torn ACL just 13 seconds into that game, in which MacArthur lost to Cedar Hill, 67-60.

ESPNU's HoopGurlz rates Sims the No. 3 senior prospect in the nation and the top point guard.

The 6-11 Jones found the radar with national scouts with his ability to handle the ball and shoot like a guard. He helped a young Duncanville team reach the area round of the playoffs. ESPNU ranks Jones ninth in the 2010 class nationally.

Sims and Jones has signed with Baylor.

The annual award, named after DeMatha (MD.) High School coaching legend Morgan Wootten, recognizes the nation's top boys and girls high school senior athletes. In addition to their skills on the court, the winners must demonstrate outstanding character, exhibit leadership, and embody the values of being a student-athlete, both in the classroom and in the community. Winners will be announced March 10.

The other finalists:

Male: Harrison Barnes (Ames High School -- Ames, Iowa), Kyrie Irving (St. Patrick High School -- Elizabeth, N.J.), Brandon Knight (Pine Crest School -- Fort Lauderdale, Fla.), Jared Sullinger (Northland High School -- Columbus, Ohio), Tristan Thompson (Findlay Prep -- Henderson, Nev.).

Female: Chelsea Gray (St. Mary's High School -- Stockton, Calif.), Bria Hartley (North Babylon High School -- North Babylon, N.Y.), Kaneisha Horn (Ramsay High School -- Birmingham, Ala.), Natasha Howard (Toledo Waite High School -- Toledo, Ohio), Chiney Ogwumike (Cy-Fair High School -- Cypress, Texas).

"These 12 finalists are all incredibly talented young players who understand what it means to give back to their communities," said Wootten, McDonald's All American Games selection committee chairman.