Dallas Motorsports: Alex Tangliani

Firestone 550: Scott Dixon keeps lead

June, 9, 2012
FORT WORTH, Texas -- Scott Dixon currently leads the IZOD IndyCar Series Firestone 550 after 100 laps at Texas Motor Speedway.

The driver of the No. 9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda has led for most of the race. He is trying for his second consecutive win of the IndyCar series, having finished first at Belle Isle.

No. 27 James Hinchcliffe was able to take the second place spot in the 98th round. The driver of the Andretti Autosport Godaddy.com Chevy sits at fourth place in the championship standings and is trying for his first win this year.

American Graham Rahal has been able to sustain a strong race, holding on to third place. The driver of the No. 38 Service Central Chip Ganassi Racing Honda is ranked 15th in the standings and has yet to win this year.

No. 98 Alex Tagliani, who began the race on the pole, currently sits in 12th place.

Despite starting the race in second, No. 10 Dario Franchitti fell behind in the first 50 rounds and has struggled to make up ground. The winner of the Indy 500 and the last race at TMS currently sits in 19th place.

Three-time TMS winner Helio Castroneves has fought up to sixth place.

Five drivers have been forced to leave the race so far: No. 83 Charlie Kimball and No. 15 Takuma Sato because of contact and No. 8 Rubens Barrichello and No. 78 Simona de Silvestro because of car failures. Most recently No. 28 Ryan Hunter-Reay has had to leave due to a mechanical issue.

Rounding out the top five are No. 20 Ed Carpenter and No. 18 Justin Wilson.

Franchitti leads practice for Firestone 550

June, 8, 2012

FORT WORTH, Texas-- Dario Franchitti finished with the fastest lap, clocking 214.724 mph, in the practice round of the IZOD IndyCar Series Firestone 550 at Texas Motor Speedway on Friday.

Franchitti, who is currently in fourth place in the Series, will be driving his No. 10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda in IndyCar’s first return to a high-banked oval track since Dan Wheldon’s tragic death in Las Vegas last October.

Rounding out the top five were No. 9 Scott Dixon (214.274 mph), rookie No. 67 Josef Newgarden (214.146 mph), No. 98 Alex Tagliani (213.965 mph), and No. 11 Tony Kanaan (213.600 mph).

IndyCar Series leader Will Power (12) had the 18th fastest lap at 211.974 mph.

Some other notable drivers’ times included:
  • No. 28 Ryan Hunter-Reay, 213.505 mph (sixth place)
  • Rookie No. 77 Simon Pagenaud, 213.396 mph (eighth place)
  • No. 27 James Hinchcliffe, 213.189 mph (ninth place)
  • No. 2 Ryan Briscoe, 213.006 mph (11th place)
  • No. 14 Mike Conway, 212.916 mph (12th place)
  • No. 3 Helio Castroneves, 211.759 mph (19th place)
  • No. 4 JR Hildebrand, 211.732 mph (20th place)
  • No. 26 Marco Andretti, 211.373 mph (21st place)

IZOD IndyCar Series qualifying begins at 4:00 p.m. CST at TMS.