Jason Kreis on 2011 Hall of Fame ballot

The Hall of Fame ballots have been sent out for 2011 and FC Dallas legend Jason Krees is on the list. Kreis is among six new player on the ballot of twenty-five names.

“To be eligible for selection to the National Soccer Hall of Fame is truly an honor, especially considering the talented individuals I share the ballot with,” Kreis told ABC4 in Salt Lake City. “Having played alongside or against so many players on the list I can personally attest to the strength of this year’s candidates. Whoever earns the great distinction of being named to the ‘Class of 2011’ will certainly have earned it.”

I for one firmly believe Kreis belongs on the Hall. First American-born MLS MVP, first 15 and 15 season in MLS history, and he retired with 74 assists and 108 goals (the most in MLS history at the time). Kreis was drafted forty-third overall by the Dallas Burn in the fifth round of the MLS Inaugural Draft. Kreis scored the first goal in FCD-Burn history and the first goal in Real Salt Lake history.

Kreis was capped 14 times by the US and is the youngest coach in MLS history to win the MLS Cup.

2011 National Soccer Hall of Fame Player Ballot

Chris Armas *

Mike Burns

Mauricio Cienfuegos

Raul Diaz Arce

Marco Etcheverry

Robin Fraser

Chris Henderson

Cobi Jones *

Jason Kreis *

Roy Lassiter

Carlos Llamosa *

Shannon MacMillan

Joe-Max Moore

Victor Nogueira

Peter Nowak

John O’Brien

Cindy Parlow

Eddie Pope *

Tiffany Roberts

Danielle Slaton *

Earnie Stewart

Steve Trittschuh ^

Carlos Valderrama

Tisha Venturini-Hoch

Peter Vermes

* First year of eligibility ^ Final year of eligibility; moves to Veteran ballot in 2012