FC Dallas wins Disney Classic on PKs

FC Dallas players pose with their trophy after beating the Houston Dynamo in the Walt Disney World Pro Soccer Classic. FC Dallas Communications

FC Dallas will be brining home some silverware when they return from Florida as the Red Stripes knocked off Houston Dynamo 5-3 in PKs to win the Walt Disney World Pro Soccer Classic on Saturday night at the ESPN Wide World of Sports complex.

The two MLS rivals tied 1-1 in regulation. Dallas went ahead in the 15th minute with former Academy product Ruben Luna got on the end of a Marvin Chavez cross.

Houston controlled the run of play for most of the game, particularly in the 2nd half, but were unable to score until the 89th minute. Houston young talent Francisco Navas Cobo beat two players in the midfield before cracking a spectacular shot into the top left corner of the goal.

In what for me is an alarming trend, Brek Shea played 90 minutes at center back. Dallas has a ton of injuries at center back, so hopefully this move is for depth reasons, but I for one don't like seeing one of FCD's best attacking players change position to one he would be 4th or 5th on the depth chart. Hopefully Hyndman isn't married to this idea and we'll soon see Shea back at midfield.

Eric Alexander again played wide in midfield with Andrew Jacobson getting the start in the linking role.


FCD – Luna (15’)

HOU – Navas Cobo (88’)

Penalty Kick Shootout

FC Dallas (5): Ferreira (goal) , Galindo (goal), Avila (goal), Guarda (goal), Shea (goal)

Houston (3): Palmer (saved), Davis (goal), Soto (goal), Will Bruin (goal)

FC Dallas lineup (4-1-4-1, left to right): Kevin Hartman (62’ Chris Seitz) – Jair Benitez (46’ Moises Hernandez), Brek Shea, Scott Gordon, Jackson – Daniel Hernandez (78’ Bruno Guarda) – Eric Alexander (71’ Eric Avila), Andrew Jacobson (73’ Bobby Warshaw), David Ferreira, Marvin Chavez (78’ Charlie Campbell) – Ruben Luna (46’ Maykel Galindo)

CAUTIONS: Shea (71’), D. Hernandez (74’), Jackson (75’)

Houston Dynamo Lineup (4-4-2, left to right): Tally Hall (60’ Tyler Deric) – Mike Chabala (60’ Jordan Graye), Jermaine Taylor (46’ Andrew Hainault), Bobby Boswell (46’ Eddie Robinson), Hunter Freeman (46’ Kofi Sarkodie) – Corey Ashe (46’ Brad Davis), Richard Edwards (70’ Josue Soto), Geoff Cameron (60’ Lovell Palmer), Danny Cruz (60’ Francisco Navas Cobo) – Jason Garey (70’ Alex Dixon), Cam Weaver (60’ Will Bruin)

CAUTIONS: Navas Cobo (83’)

Referee: Edvin Jurisevic

Assistant Referees: Craig Lowry, James Conlee

Fourth Official: Ted Unkel

Attendance: 1,634