Brek Shea named US Soccer's Young Male Athlete of the Year

January, 21, 2012
U.S. Soccer has announced their award winners for 2011 and Brek Shea was named Young Male Athlete of the Year.

U.S. Men's National Team forward Clint Dempsey as the 2011 Male Athlete of the Year and U.S. Women's National Team forward Abby Wambach as the 2011 Female Athlete of the Year. U.S. WNT and U-23 WNT forward Sydney Leroux won the Young Male and Young Female Awards, respectively.

Shea took home Young Male Athlete of the Year after having a breakout year on both the international and professional level. Shea was the first player born in the 1990s to earn a cap for the U.S. MNT, earning eight caps in 2011 as one of three players to feature in all of Jurgen Klinsmann's games as head coach. With FC Dallas, Shea scored 11 goals in 31 games and was named to the 2011 MLS Best XI.

"This was a fun year for me - a lot of chances with the National Team, FC Dallas and getting to train with Arsenal," said Shea. "Hopefully in 2012 I get a chance to go to the Olympics and be a part of World Cup Qualifying. I'm honored to be part of this award. A lot of great players have won it."

1998: Josh Wolff
1999: Ben Olsen
2000: Landon Donovan
2001: DaMarcus Beasley
2002: Bobby Convey
2003: Freddy Adu
2004: Eddie Johnson
2005: Benny Feilhaber
2006: Jozy Altidore
2007: Michael Bradley
2008: Sacha Kljestan
2009: Luis Gil
2010: Gale Agbossoumonde
2011: Brek Shea



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?