Print and Go Back Dallas Soccer [Print without images]

Friday, February 18, 2011
Jason Kreis on 2011 Hall of Fame ballot

By Buzz Carrick

The Hall of Fame ballots have been sent out for 2011 and FC Dallas legend Jason Krees is on the list.  Kreis is among six new player on the ballot of twenty-five names.

“To be eligible for selection to the National Soccer Hall of Fame is truly an honor, especially considering the talented individuals I share the ballot with,” Kreis told ABC4 in Salt Lake City. “Having played alongside or against so many players on the list I can personally attest to the strength of this year’s candidates. Whoever earns the great distinction of being named to the ‘Class of 2011’ will certainly have earned it.”

I for one firmly believe Kreis belongs on the Hall. First American-born MLS MVP, first 15 and 15 season in MLS history, and he retired with 74 assists and 108 goals (the most in MLS history at the time). Kreis was drafted forty-third overall by the Dallas Burn in the fifth round of the MLS Inaugural Draft. Kreis scored the first goal in FCD-Burn history and the first goal in Real Salt Lake history.

Kreis was capped 14 times by the US and is the youngest coach in MLS history to win the MLS Cup.

2011 National Soccer Hall of Fame Player Ballot

Chris Armas *
Mike Burns
Mauricio Cienfuegos
Raul Diaz Arce
Marco Etcheverry
Robin Fraser
Chris Henderson
Cobi Jones *
Jason Kreis *
Roy Lassiter
Carlos Llamosa *
Shannon MacMillan
Joe-Max Moore
Victor Nogueira
Peter Nowak
John O’Brien
Cindy Parlow
Eddie Pope *
Tiffany Roberts
Danielle Slaton *
Earnie Stewart
Steve Trittschuh ^
Carlos Valderrama
Tisha Venturini-Hoch
Peter Vermes
* First year of eligibility ^ Final year of eligibility; moves to Veteran ballot in 2012