Crawford fuming over non-call
December, 8, 2010
By Mark Stepneski | ESPNDallas.com
Stars coach Marc Crawford was hot after Wednesday’s 5-3 loss to Chicago. He thought the Stars should have been awarded a penalty shot late in the game when Blackhawks defenseman Brent Seabrook threw his stick as Trevor Daley skated by in the Chicago zone. The Stars were trailing 4-3 with just under 40 seconds remaining when the play happened.
“How do guys miss that? That is the easiest call, the easiest call in the book to make,” Crawford said. “Because when a guy throws the stick, it’s an automatic penalty shot. That’s the call. That’s the call. Everybody in the crowd saw it. Everybody in the broadcast saw it. Everybody on the benches saw it. But nobody else saw it. The people that were important didn’t see it. At the end of the day, it’s a tough loss for our team, but at the same time it’s frustrating when you miss obvious calls like that.”
Here’s the rule, which is 53.6:
53.6 Penalty Shot -- When any member of the defending team, including the coach or any non-playing person, throws or shoots any part of a stick or any other object or piece of equipment at the puck or puck carrier in his defending zone, the referee or linesman shall allow the play to be completed and if a goal is not scored, a penalty shot shall be awarded to the non-offending team. This shot shall be taken by the player designated by the referee as the player fouled.
If the officials are unable to determine the person against whom the offense was made, the non-offending team, through the captain, shall designate a player on the ice at the time the offense was committed to take the shot.
If a player on a breakaway in the neutral or attacking zone is interfered with by a stick or any other object or piece of equipment that is thrown by any member of the defending team, including the coach or any non-playing club person, a penalty shot shall be awarded to the non-offending team. See also Rule 57.3 -- Tripping for fouls from behind to a player on a breakaway.
If a player on a breakaway in the neutral or attacking zone is interfered with by an object thrown on the ice by a spectator that causes him to lose possession of the puck or to fall, the referee shall award a penalty shot to the player who was fouled.