Joe Maddon shuffles Rays' order

ARLINGTON, Texas -- Tampa Bay Rays manager Joe Maddon has adjusted his batting order for today's Game 3, sliding first baseman Carlos Pena and center fielder B.J. Upton, both of whom are hitless in the series, down to the seventh and eighth spot, respectively. Jason Bartlett, who led off both games in Tampa, will bat ninth.

John Jaso replaces Fort Worth-product Kelly Shoppach behind the plate and will move into the lead-off slot and second baseman Ben Zobrist moves up to bat second. Also, right-fielder Matt Joyce and designated hitter Dan Johnson will make their first starts of the series.

"It's a typical lineup that we use vs. a right-hand pitcher pretty much," said Rays manager Joe Maddon, who has five lefties in the lineup, plus the switch-hitting Zobrist. "I just kind of move Joyce, Johnson and Pena around based on the starting pitcher."

Texas' Colby Lewis make his postseason debut in today's potential ALDS clincher.

Here's the Rays lineup:

C John Jaso (L)

2B Ben Zobrist (S)

LF Carl Crawford (L)

3B Evan Longoria

RF Matt Joyce (L)

DH Dan Johnson (L)

1B Carlos Pena (L)

CF B.J. Upton

SS Jason Bartlett

P Matt Garza (15-10, 3.91 ERA)