Print and Go Back Texas Rangers [Print without images]

Tuesday, May 1, 2012
Fans can vote for Rangers 40th anniversary team


During the month of May, the Rangers will celebrate their 40th anniversary by giving fans the opportunity to vote for the top players in team history.

Rangers radio play-by-play man Steve Busby takes us through Yu Darvish start. Despite the early success, Busby says that if the playoffs started today, Colby Lewis would still be the Rangers' Game 1 starter.

Listen Listen
Fans can vote for the best players at each position at through May 31. The Rangers 40th Anniversary All-Time Team will be announced in June and its members will be honored on the club’s annual alumni weekend, Aug. 10-12.

Fans who fill out ballots will be entered for a chance at two tickets to the Dr Pepper Texas Rangers 40th Anniversary Weekend Luncheon. Five winners will be chosen.

According to a Rangers news release, the ballot was compiled by taking the club’s all-time leaders by games played at each position. The lists of pitchers were compiled by using the Rangers’ all-time leaders for wins, starts, appearances and saves. As a result, select players may be listed at more than one position.

Here is the ballot:

Will Clark
Mike Hargrove
Pete O'Brien
Rafael Palmeiro
Mark Teixeira

Julio Franco
Ian Kinsler
Mark McLemore
Bump Wills
Michael Young

Buddy Bell
Hank Blalock
Steve Buechele
Toby Harrah
Dean Palmer

Elvis Andrus
Scott Fletcher
Toby Harrah
Alex Rodriguez
Michael Young

Rod Barajas
Gerald Laird
Geno Petralli
Ivan Rodriguez
Jim Sundberg

OUTFIELDERS (choose 3)
Juan Beniquez
Jeff Burroughs
Nelson Cruz
Juan Gonzalez
Rusty Greer
Josh Hamilton
Pete Incaviglia
Oddibe McDowell
Kevin Mench
David Murphy
Al Oliver
Larry Parrish
Bill Sample
Ruben Sierra
Gary Ward
George Wright

Kevin Brown
Jose Guzman
Rick Helling
Charlie Hough
Ferguson Jenkins
Jon Matlack
George Medich
Kevin Millwood
Darren Oliver
Roger Pavlik
Gaylord Perry
Kenny Rogers
Nolan Ryan
Bobby Witt

Francisco Cordero
Danny Darwin
Neftali Feliz
Frank Francisco
Tom Henke
Kenny Rogers
Jeff Russell
John Wetteland
Mitch Williams
C.J. Wilson

Brian Downing
Juan Gonzalez
Tom Grieve
Rafael Palmeiro
Larry Parrish