Endurance: Jay McCarthy

Pirazzi emerges to win Giro Stage 17

May, 28, 2014
May 28
Stefano Pirazzi (Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox) won stage 17 of the Giro d’Italia on Wednesday.

The Italian was part of a large breakaway group of 26 riders that formed nearly two hours into the 204-kilometer stage from Sarnonico to Vittorio Veneto. Pirazzi and four others eventually made their way to the front of the race, and with a kilometer left he attacked and held on to win.

Tim Wellens (Lotto-Belisol) took second and Jay McCarthy (Tinkoff-Saxo) was third.

Nairo Quintana (Movistar) retained the pink leader’s jersey, holding a 1:41 advantage over Rigoberto Uran and a 3:21 gap over Cadel Evans (BMC Racing).

With the peloton well back at 10 minutes, it was clear in the final 25K that someone in the breakaway would most likely win the stage. Just before the summit of the final climb of the day, the Category 4 Muro di Ca’ del Poggio, Pirazzi nearly caught Thomas De Gendt (Omega Pharma-Quick Step), who had attacked the break with 30K left.

(Read full post)