Meb Keflezighi, Wilson Kipsang lead men's pro field for 2015 NYC Marathon

Meb Keflezighi won the NYC Marathon in 2009 and was the fourth-place finisher in last year's race. AP Photo/Seth Wenig

The men's professional field for the 2015 TCS New York City Marathon has been announced by the New York Road Runners, including American Meb Keflezighi and the top three finishers from the 2014 race.

Leading the group for the Nov. 1 race are defending champion Wilson Kipsang of Kenya; 2014 runner-up Lelisa Desisa and third-place finisher Gebre Gebremariam, both of Kenya; and world 10,000-meter silver medalist Geoffrey Kamworor of Kenya.

“We’re thrilled to welcome back our defending champion Wilson Kipsang, along with Meb Keflezighi, America’s top marathoner, and this year’s Boston Marathon champion, Lelisa Desisa, for the 2015 TCS New York City Marathon,” race director Peter Ciaccia said in a statement. “This is one of our most exciting fields in years and a key race in the Abbott World Marathon Majors Series IX.”

Kipsang, 33, also won the World Marathon Majors series last year and has run under 2 hours, 5 minutes a total of six times, the most in history. His personal best of 2:03:23 (Berlin, 2013) was formerly the world record, and Kipsang won the London Marathon in both 2013 and '14.

“My training is going very well and I am very happy to come back to race the streets of New York City again and defend my title,” Kipsang said.

Keflezighi, winner of the 2014 Boston and 2009 NYC marathons, will run as a New York Road Runners Team for Kids ambassador for the second year in a row, supporting the NYRR's goal of raising $5 million for the organization's various free youth running programs.

Kamworor, 22, won gold medals at the 2015 IAFF world cross country championships and the 2014 world half-marathon championships, in addition to his 10,000-meter silver medal at this year's outdoor world championships. Desisa, 25, has twice won in Boston (2013, '15), while Gebremariam, 31, is a two-time Olympian and the 2010 winner of the NYC Marathon.

Other notables in the men's professional field include 2015 world championship silver medalist Yemane Tsegaye of Ethiopia; two-time Olympian Juan Luis Barrios of Mexico; Kenyan Stanley Biwott, who won the 2012 Paris Marathon in a course-record 2:05:11; and 2013 USA Marathon champion Nick Arciniaga.

The 2015 TCS New York City Marathon will be broadcast live nationwide on ESPN2 beginning at 9 a.m. ET, and will be available in Spanish on ESPN Deportes+. Additionally, ESPN3 will provide prerace coverage from 7-9 a.m. ET, and have a finish-line cam from 9:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. ET.

The complete men's professional field:

Wilson Kipsang, Kenya (2:03:23 personal best)

Lelisa Desisa, Ethiopia (2:04:45)

Yemane Tsegaye, Ethiopia (2:04:47)

Gebre Gebremariam, Ethiopia (2:04:53)

Stanley Biwott, Kenya (2:04:55)

Geoffrey Kamworor, Kenya (2:06:12)

Yuki Kawauchi, Japan (2:08:14)

Meb Keflezighi, USA (2:08:37)

Daniele Meucci, Italy (2:11:08)

Nick Arciniaga, USA (2:11:30)

Zicheng Li, China (2:13:12)

Craig Leon, USA (2:13:53)

Juan Luis Barrios, Mexico (2:14:20)

Stefano Sciani, Italy (2:16:26)

Harbert Okuti, Uganda (2:17:30)

Matt Flaherty, USA (2:21:20)

Kevin Chelimo, Kenya (2:29:40)

Will Nation, USA (debut)

Chris Bendtsen, USA (debut)