ESPN Events: Charleston Classic presented by Gildan

Temple honors coaches Chaney, Litwack

February, 7, 2014
Feb 7
It's been a banner year for legendary coaches Harry Litwack and John Chaney. The legacies of Litwack and Chaney, both members of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, are now even more visible at the Liacouras Center, home of the Owls. Temple has unveiled larger-than-life statues of the coaches in the arena’s lobby, and their names can also be found on the center jump circle of the Owls’ home court.

Litwack, a Hall of Fame inductee in 1976, guided the Owls to a 373-193 record in his 21 seasons as head coach (1952-1973). He led the Owls to 13 postseason appearances (6 NCAA, 7 NIT) and the program’s only Final Four appearances (1956, 1958). His 1968-’69 team won the NIT championship. Litwack died in 1999 at age 91.

Chaney—who was present for the statues’ unveiling on Feb. 1—was enshrined in the Hall of Fame in 2001. He posted a 516-253 mark in 24 seasons as the Owls’ head coach (1982-2006), and carried Temple to 23 postseason appearances (17 NCAA, 6 NIT), including five Elite Eight finishes. He was twice named National Coach of the Year, and his 1987-’88 team is the only Temple squad to end the season ranked No. 1 in the Associated Press national poll.

Chaney was also a MEAC/SWAC Challenge Legend in 2012, along with Eddie Robinson (who attended Alabama State), Jack “Cy” McClairen (Bethune-Cookman), Stephanie Ready (Coppin State) and Steven Wilson (Howard University).

Perhaps the statues will bring a bit of luck to the Fran Dunphy-coached Owls, who competed in the Charleston Classic Presented by Gildan to start the season. The squad is now 6-14 overall, 1-7 in the American Athletic Conference.

McDermott, Williams Named Wooden Top 25

January, 29, 2014
Jan 29
When the Los Angeles Athletic Club recently announced its Wooden Award Midseason Top 25, it wasn’t surprising to find on the list two standouts from teams that recently played in two of ESPN Events’ early season tournaments: Creighton’s Doug McDermott (in the DIRECTV Wooden Legacy) and Massachusetts’ Chaz Williams (in the Charleston Classic presented by Gildan).

McDermott, a 6-8, 225-pound senior forward, is averaging 24.3 points and 7.2 rebounds a game, and has led the Bluejays (17-3) to the top of the Big East Conference. A two-time All-American in 2012 and 2013, he could become the first three-time All-American for the men’s selection since North Carolina’s Tyler Hansbrough (2007-09).

McDermott’s season got off to a solid start, beginning in the Wooden Legacy. He scored 27 points to lead Creighton to an 88-60 win over Arizona State in the first of three games. In the second contest, he tallied a game-high 30 points in an 86-80 loss to San Diego State.

Williams, a 5-9, 175-pound senior, averages 15.8 points and 7.3 assists a game. His stellar play has the 13th-ranked Minutemen (17-2) in second place in the Atlantic 10 Conference. He is ranked fourth nationally among the leaders in assists. UMass set the tone for a breakout season with its 62-56 win over Clemson to capture the Charleston Classic title back in November.

The winner of the Wooden Award will be honored at the 38th annual gala, which takes place the weekend of April 11-13. The event also includes the presentation of the Wooden Award All-American teams and the Legends of Coaching Award.