ESPNHS Fall All-America boys' soccer list

March, 1, 2012
The fall high school soccer season annually showcases the most, and usually the best, college-bound talent during the school year.

Of the 36 members of the ESPNHS Fall All-America teams, 33 have signed or committed to NCAA Division I programs and two are expected to pursue professional careers. That leaves only one player, a junior standout, who remains uncommitted at this point.

This year’s 12-member first team features eight players who are headed to ACC programs and one who will turn pro. The other three players are heading to prominent programs in the Midwest.

The team is compiled using a combination of players’ high school performance, coaching and media recommendations and recruiting details, and includes only players who participated in fall high school soccer.

While players from 16 states are represented on the All-America list, Michigan and New York lead the way with five selections. Maryland, New Jersey and Ohio each have two All-America performers. Missouri, North Carolina and Pennsylvania have two representatives.

ESPNHS Fall All-America teams

Note: Players are listed with position, name, school (city, state), year in school, college commitment (if available).

First Team

F: Christiano Francois, St. Benedict’s (Newark, N.J.), Sr., Maryland
F: Donovan Fraser, Half Hollow Hills West (Dix Hills, N.Y.), Sr., Maryland
F: Michael Gamble, McDonogh (Owings Mills, Md.), Sr., Wake Forest
F: Patrick Hodan, Marquette (Milwaukee), Sr., Notre Dame
MF: Jonathan Campbell, Greensboro Day School (Greensboro, N.C.), Sr., North Carolina
MF: Matt Foldesy, St. Ignatius (Cleveland), Sr., Akron
MF: Cris Hernandez, St. Benedict’s (Newark, N.J.), Sr., signing pro
MF: Scott Thomsen, Christian Brothers (Lincroft, N.J.), Sr., Virginia
D: Jack Brown, Detroit Country Day (Beverly Hills, Mich.), Sr., Michigan
D: Zach Carroll, Grand Blanc (Grand Blanc, Mich.), Sr., Virginia
D: Dakota Edwards, Sayville (Sayville, N.Y.), Sr., Maryland
GK: Andrew Harris, Gilman (Baltimore), Sr., Wake Forest

Coach of the Year: Andrew Chadwick, Green Hope (Cary, N.C.)

Second Team

F: Femi Hollinger-Janzen, Bethany Christian (Goshen, Ind.), Sr., Indiana
F: Warren Marshall, West Forsyth (Clemmons, N.C.), Jr., North Carolina
F: Shane O’Neill, Fairview (Boulder, Colo.), Sr., Virginia
F: Jelani Williams, West Orange (West Orange, N.J.), Sr., St. John’s
MF: Louis Berra, DeSmet (St. Louis, Mo.), Sr., Ohio State
MF: Ibrahim Diaby, Martin Luther King (New York), Sr.
MF: Connor Klekota, Steele (Amherst, Ohio), Sr., Notre Dame
MF: Derek Schrick, Rockhurst (Kansas City, Mo.), Sr., SMU
D: Eric DeJulio, Blue Valley Northwest (Overland Park, Kan.), Sr., Creighton
D: Andrew Souders, Steele (Amherst, Ohio), Sr., Akron
GK: Cody Niedermeier, Broadneck (Annapolis, Md.), Sr., Maryland
GK: Matt Smolinski, Troy (Troy, Mich.), Jr.

Third Team

F: Brett Campbell, Haverford School (Haverford, Pa.), Jr., Georgetown
F: Sean Sepe, West Islip (West Islip, N.Y.), Sr., St. John’s
F: Tommy Thompson, Granite Bay (Granite Bay, Calif.), So., Indiana
F: Zach Zurita, Bunnell (Bunnell, Conn.), Sr., Monmouth
MF: Danny Bedoya, Francis Lewis (Fresh Meadows, N.Y.), Sr., St. John's
MF: Drew Klingenberg, Pine-Richland (Gibsonia, Pa.), Sr., Penn State
MF: Chris Odoi-Atsem, DeMatha (Hyattsville, Md.), Jr., Maryland
MF: Ntokozo Tshuma, Episcopal (Alexandria, Va.), Sr., Maryland
D: Connor Furgason, Plymouth Canton (Canton, Mich.), Sr., Western Michigan
D: Deven Mason, Eldorado (Albuquerque, N.M.), Sr., Virginia Tech
D: Rhodes Moore, Upper Arlington (Columbus, Ohio), Sr., Xavier
GK: Chase Rau, Sparta (Sparta, Mich.), Sr., Michigan



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?