High-SchoolCalifornia: Victoria Molina

Amador Valley softball rolls to NorCal No. 1

April, 9, 2012
California high school softball,Livermore StampedeHarold Abend/ESPNHSAmador Valley won its last two games at the Livermore Stampede by combined score of 19-1.
Dons roll past Mitty and Livermore to win Livermore Stampede and will now close in on being No. 1 in the state after top-ranked Norco falls at Michelle Carew Classic.

After her performance in the 18th Annual Livermore Stampede, there’s a new queen of Northern California high school softball and her name is Johanna Grauer from Amador Valley of Pleasanton.

The championship game of the Stampede was played at 7:15 p.m. last Saturday, but to softball aficionados and for rankings purposes, the 3 p.m. semifinal between Cal-Hi Sports No. 3 Archbishop Mitty (San Jose) and No. 7 Amador Valley was the game of the day.

Read More »

New Cal-Hi Sports Softball Top 20

April, 4, 2012
There’s limited movement in this week’s rankings, but that could change after this weekend’s Michelle Carew Classic and the Livermore Stampede.

As rankings compilers, it sure is nice sometimes when just about every team from the week before doesn’t lose. In most weeks, especially in baseball and softball, it’s the opposite.

For this week’s new top 20 for California softball, the only team to lose and drop was previous No. 8 Torrey Pines. The Falcons didn’t drop far after losing to San Marcos on Monday because it was just their first loss of the season.

Previous No. 15 Simi Valley didn’t lose, but had to take a tie when weather forced a halt to a tie game between the Pioneers and El Segundo in the title game of the Savanna tourney in Anaheim.

Next week’s rankings don’t figure to be as calm. Many top teams will be in the brackets of the Michelle Carew Classic in Anaheim Hills and the Livermore Stampede in Livermore.

(Through games played Monday, April 2)
(Previous ranking in parentheses)

1. (1) Norco 14-0
The Cougars, who were idle last week, hope to add the Michelle Carew Classic title to previous tournament crowns they’ve won at Bullhead City, Ariz., and Torrance, Calif.

Read More »