New football conference slated for 2012

Fourteen South Florida schools have banded together to form their own football conference beginning with the upcoming 2012 season, the Palm Beach Post reports.

The conference will be for football only, and the schools will remain in their FHSAA classifications for all other sports. The 14 schools will be split into two seven-team divisions -- North and South -- and the division winners will meet in a championship game.

The North division will include Benjamin, Coral Springs Charter, John Carroll, Pine Crest, John Paul II, St. Andrew's and Westminster Academy. The South features Archbishop Curley, Coral Shores, Florida Christian, LaSalle, Marathon, Miami Country Day and Ransom Everglades.