Eye on POY: Tennessee volleyball

December, 5, 2011
The window on the Gatorade State Volleyball Player of the Year race is closing, and time is running out for student-athletes to state their POY case. The award recognizes not only athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field. Here are two top candidates who meet the basic award criteria as determined by our ESPNHS team that administers the program’s selection process.

Alyssa Ivey
Senior Setter, Ravenwood High (Brentwood, TN)

2011 Team record: 45-8
2011 Team standing: Won Class AAA state title. Ranked No. 79 by PrepVolleyball.com

2011 Kills: 81
2011 Blocks: 32
2011 Digs: 262
2011 Aces: 44
2011 Assists: 1,380

Academics: A average
Collegiate destination: Middle Tennessee State (letter of intent)

How she’s played herself into the State POY conversation: Led team to back-to-back state titles; District MVP; Averaged 9.79 assists per game.

Kaitlyn Teeter
Junior Outside Hitter, Friendship Christian School (Lebanon, TN)

2011 Team record: 47-11
2011 Team standing: Won Class A state title

2011 Kills: 962
2011 Blocks: 49
2011 Digs: 459
2011 Aces: 88

Academics: A-minus average
Collegiate destination: HS Junior

How she’s played herself into the State POY conversation: Three-time All-State selection; Class A state tournament MVP.

Make no mistake, the Gatorade State Volleyball Player of the Year race isn’t over yet. Time remains for one standout student-athlete among thousands to rise to the top of our list. Here are some more of many who’ve been in the conversation throughout the 2011 campaign.

Kathryn Hutson: Ravenwood High (Brentwood, TN) SO MB
Chelsea Ross: Riverdale High (Murfreesboro, TN) SR OH
Shelby Anderton: Evangelical Christian High (Cordova, TN) SR S
Molly Locke: Page High (Franklin, TN) SR OH
ReJean Rouse: Ensworth School (City, State) SR OH

Think we're missing a deserving Gatorade State Player of the Year candidate in your state? Let us know via e-mail at ESPNHS_GPOY@ESPN.com or Twitter @ESPNHS_Awards.



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?