Print and Go Back High-SchoolPlayer-of-the-Year [Print without images]

Wednesday, January 4, 2012
Eye on POY: Mississippi girls cross country

By Ben Rohrbach

The cross country season may have concluded, but the search for Gatorade State Girls Cross Country Runners of the Year is in full swing. The award recognizes not only athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated. These state meet competitors made a case in their respective classifications, but did they do enough on and off the course this past season to capture the prestigious statewide honor?

Christina Daniels
Freshman, Tupelo (Miss.)

2011 Team postseason standing: 1st (Class 6A)
2011 State meet finish (Place—time): 1st—15:08.5 (4K)

Callie Mayo
Junior, Oxford (Miss.)

2011 Team postseason standing: 2nd (Class 5A)
2011 State meet finish (Place—time): 2nd—15:30.7 (4K)

Nina LaBue
Junior, Newton County (Decatur, Miss.)

2011 Team postseason standing: 10th (Class 4A)
2011 State meet finish (Place—time): 3rd—16:39.8 (4K)

Mia Martinson
Sophomore, St. Andrew's Episcopal School (Ridgeland, Miss.)

2011 Team postseason standing: 2nd (Class 3A)
2011 State meet finish (Place—time): 2nd—15:28.6 (4K)

Tiffany Hobbs
Senior, J.Z. George (North Carrollton, Miss.)

2011 Team postseason standing: 5th (Class 2A)
2011 State meet finish (Place—time): 2nd—16:49.4 (4K)

Andrea Wise
Freshman, St. Joseph Catholic (Greenville, Miss.)

2011 Team postseason standing: 6th (Class 1A)
2011 State meet finish (Place—time): 3rd—16:46.1 (4K)

Winning the state meet isn't a prerequisite for Gatorade State Cross Country Runner of the Year, so here are some more of many other harriers whose performances this past season vaulted them into the conversation during this 2011 campaign.

Ashtyn Bellais: Sophomore, St. Patrick (Biloxi, Miss.)
Elisabeth Gaillet: Junior, St. Andrew's Episcopal School (Ridgeland, Miss.)
Page Rowland: Junior, Ripley (Miss.)
Belle Wallace: Sophomore, Brandon (Miss.)

Think we're missing a deserving Gatorade State Runner of the Year candidate in your state? Let us know via e-mail at