Eye on POY: Kansas boys cross country

The cross country season may have concluded, but the search for Gatorade State Boys Cross Country Runners of the Year is in full swing. The award recognizes not only athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated. These state meet winners made a case in their respective classifications, but did they do enough on and off the course this past season to capture the prestigious statewide honor?

Jacob Morgan

Senior, Washburn Rural (Topeka, Kan.)

2011 Team postseason standing: DNQ (Class 6A)

2011 State meet finish (Place—time): 1st—15:28.50

2011 Foot Locker regional (Place—time): 15th—15:31

David Thor

Senior, Bishop Carroll Catholic (Wichita, Kan.)

2011 Team postseason standing: 1st (Class 5A)

2011 State meet finish (Place—time): 1st—16:03.30

Angel Vasquez

Junior, De Soto (Kan.)

2011 Team postseason standing: 3rd (Class 4A)

2011 State meet finish (Place—time): 1st—16:30.47

Cory Donley

Junior, Sacred Heart (Salina, Kan.)

2011 Team postseason standing: DNQ (Class 3A)

2011 State meet finish (Place—time): 1st—17:05.80

2011 Foot Locker regional (Place—time): 166th—16:50

Brady Johnson

Senior, Plainville (Kan.)

2011 Team postseason standing: DNQ (Class 2A)

2011 State meet finish (Place—time): 1st—16:29.63

Gunnar Hays

Senior, Northern Valley (Almena, Kan.)

2011 Team postseason standing: 9th (Class 1A)

2011 State meet finish (Place—time): 1st—16:45.03

Winning the state meet isn't a prerequisite for Gatorade State Cross Country Runner of the Year, so here are some more of many other harriers whose performances this past season vaulted them into the conversation during this 2011 campaign.

Kain Anderson: Senior, Lawrence Free State (Lawrence, Kan.)

Ben Anstaett: Senior, Olathe North (Olathe, Kan.)

Kirk Bado: Junior, Shawnee Mission Northwest (Shawnee Mission, Kan.)

Justin Bryan: Senior, Blue Valley West (Overland Park, Kan.)

Bryant Keirns: Senior, Campus (Haysville, Kan.)

Chris Wise: Senior, Hutchinson (Kan.)

Think we're missing a deserving Gatorade State Runner of the Year candidate in your state? Let us know via e-mail at ESPNHS_GPOY@ESPN.com.