High-SchoolPlayer-of-the-Year: Courtney Verloo

POY Alumni: Women's Soccer Final Four

December, 2, 2011
Teresa NoyolaGerry Broome/AP2008 Gatorade National Girls Soccer Player of the Year Teresa Noyola leads Stanford into the College Cup.
When the Women's Soccer College Cup gets underway Friday in Kennesaw, Ga., it's going to be hard to watch one second of action without seeing a former Gatorade Player of the Year on the field. Stanford, Duke, Florida State and Wake Forest boast 17 Gatorade Player of the Year winners on their rosters, including three national winners.

Stanford, the No. 1 overall seed, has two of those national winners in senior midfielder Teresa Noyola (2008, Calif.) and junior defender Rachel Quon (2009, Ill.). Noyola, the Pac-12 Scholar Athlete of the Year, is a three-time First Team All-Pac-12 selection. The Cardinal, who have lost in the national title game each of the last two years, also feature starters Kristy Zurmuhlen (2008, N.H.), Alina Garciamendez (2008, Texas) and Pac-12 Freshman of the Year Chioma Ubogagu (2010, Texas) as well as Alex Doll (2010, 2011, Md.) and the injured Courtney Verloo (2007, 2008, Ore.).

Stanford will face Florida State in the day's first semifinal. The Seminoles, the ACC Tournament champions, are led by three-time Gatorade winner Tiffany McCarty (2006, 2007, 2008, Washington D.C.), a First-Team All-ACC selection. Defender Kassey Kallman (2010, Minn.) led the Seminoles in minutes played, and Ella Stephan 2007, Fla.) started 15 games.

Read More »